It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Memory contacts Memory contacts
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Memory contacts
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th October 2005, 00:42   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default Memory contacts

One of the contacts fell off of my 512MB stick during removal. Of course, I did not find this out until the horrible "beeping" sound screaming out of the case duing booting process.

Lucky me I said to myself; followed by why me?

The next twenty minutes I tried soldering; lifting another thin contact from an old PC66 32mb memory in an attempt to salvage the damage - no such luck

Being curious in everything, I used an X-Acto to scrap off a "fine" channel in hope to use a lead pencil trick to make contact - again no such luck.

I went to the fridge and pop open a can of beer - went back to the "dead" module after a few minutes of R&R. I continued on the previous failed attempt; I then came to the second layer of the PCB where another layer of copper ciruit surfaces ..... carefully I scrapped off a little more horizontally to "enlarge" the exposed circuit enough that I thought would make "contact"; hoping it is the right circuit at the same time.

I popped the module back; turned the system on; closed my eyes and hoped that "beep" sound would not visit my ear drums. It DID NOT ..... system continued on the booting process and I was greeted by "WINDOWS".
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 17th October 2005, 00:49   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

[g]Memtest+86[/g] ... before you lose precisious work from a random reboot
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 00:18   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

But, I am talking about physical damage and the cure
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 00:32   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

yes, but to make sure that the cancer is really gone, run Memtest86, boot into windows != stable system
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 01:57   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

It's working just as good as before
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 09:43   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that's good news, no pics of the "hacked" memory stick?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 17:45   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default



Really a ***** to work with; never had this experience with the contact lifted off of the stick.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 19:35   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

aah, one pictures says more than 1000 words, I though one of the resistors on the PCB had been removed
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th October 2005, 21:36   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

That pin or contact must have been "caught" on the very edge during installation and snapped off. I did think of returning it to Apacer since it has life time warranty; but Apacer has not been making DDR for quite some time. The pair runs at 2.5-3-3-7 despite 3-4-4-8 rating.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair® Launches Advanced Cooling Options for Dominator™ and Dominator GT Memory jmke WebNews 0 14th May 2009 10:48
Patriot Memory Releases Tri-Channel Signature Series Memory Kits jmke WebNews 0 19th February 2009 18:47
Patriot Memory Releases 16GB microSDHC Flash Memory Card jmke WebNews 0 13th February 2009 15:15
Corsair Memory powers “World’s Fastest PC” jmke WebNews 0 21st November 2008 11:03
Patriot Releases New Viper Series Gaming Memory with EPP2.0 jmke WebNews 0 18th June 2008 18:20
Kingston Technology Rolls Out DDR3 Memory jmke WebNews 2 12th June 2007 09:24
Corsair releases CL3 DDR2 Memory at PC6400 Speeds jmke WebNews 0 23rd May 2006 15:08
INFO: overclocking DDR2 memory list jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th March 2006 11:04
Corsair Unveils new PC2-8500 and PC-4400 memory at Cebit 2006 jmke WebNews 0 6th March 2006 16:49
Corsair named NVIDIA's Memory Development and Launch Partner for nForceT4 SLI jmke WebNews 0 5th April 2005 21:47

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:07.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO