It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Master HD - Slave DVD in same IDE channel Master HD - Slave DVD in same IDE channel
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Master HD - Slave DVD in same IDE channel
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd May 2005, 17:57   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default Master HD - Slave DVD in same IDE channel

Quote:
Here's your optical drive configuration:
prim master = HDD w/OS
prim slave = DVD-ROM

You may have to rearrange the drives in the bays. The DVD-ROM should be the lowest & the cable from the HDD w/OS should reach with no prob.

2ndary master = CDRW
2ndary slave = 2nd HDD

The CDRW should be above the DVD-ROM with at least one bay left open between them. The 2nd HDD can then be placed in that open bay using a 5.25" to 3.5" adapter.
Any truth to this?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 18:01   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

I have the HD on primary and CD/DVD on secondary

I think the quote above is more a solution to an architectural problem than a performance option
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 18:04   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

That's what I figured; as most OEM setup for saving a few cents, and has nothing to do with performance.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 23rd May 2005, 18:04   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the placement of the drives is only so the cables can be placed more conveniently.

there is truth to this. a DVD rom drive is only for reading, so overall access is not that important. the OS sits on a Master drive = correct.

the CDRW needs to have a enough data flowing to it; so setting it as master is not a bad idea, I had the same setup once. It makes burning coaster a harder job, but with the introduction of burn-proof that's pretty much over also.

when writing a CD from 2nd HDD you'll still experience system slowdowns; but when writing CD's from the HDD with OS you will notice better performance with CDRW as master compared to setting it as slave.


with the advantage of having 1001 PATA/SATA connectors on today motherboards you can set pretty much all your devices as MASTER anyways
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 26th May 2005, 00:22   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Flemmish Brabant
Posts: 82
Wolf2000me Freshly Registered
Default

I always thought the IDE PATA interface was unable to read/write to two devices on the same bus at the same time. One or the other.
Indeed this problem is getting more irrelevant with time passing.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula // Intel Q6600 G0 3.7Ghz // (OCZ 2048MB 1066MHZ REAPER == junk)
Asus Geforce EN8800GT // 2x 74Gb WD Raptors R0
Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
Wolf2000me is offline  
Old 26th May 2005, 05:15   #6
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I thought you shouldn't put your hdd's on the same controller as the optical drives because data trasport would only be as fast as the weekest link in the chain?
 
Old 26th May 2005, 08:31   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if your optical drive does not support DMA; you're stuck @ PIO mode
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 26th May 2005, 10:49   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 923
187(V)URD@ Freshly Registered
Default

I always put HD on the same IDE chan and dvdrw + cdreader also on the same IDE.
__________________
AMD Opteron 146@3ghz H2O Storm | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | 2*512MB Gskill LE | X800GTO˛@X850XT-PE | 2*250GB Hitachi | Modded Aopen H600B| Seasonic 600W | MX510@450HZ | 19\" TFT BenQ 937s+ |3DMARK2001
AMD XP2400+@2600+ | Epox 8rda+ | 2*256 Twinmos BH5 | Club3D 9600Pro | Maxtor 80GB + 200GB | server + moviestation |
187(V)URD@ is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LG DVD Burner GSA-H62N SATA vs GSA-H50N IDE Review jmke WebNews 0 4th October 2007 15:44
ASUS DRW-1814BL/T Internal DVD Writers, SATA vs. IDE Comparison jmke WebNews 1 10th May 2007 13:25
SATA To Replace IDE DVD Burners In 2007 jmke WebNews 0 4th October 2006 08:05
Overcoming a MAster vs slave problem simpleme Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 5 23rd January 2006 05:33
Intel, Microsoft Back HD DVD jmke WebNews 0 28th September 2005 22:54
Sanyo Develops One-Chip Controller for HD DVD, DVD, CD jmke WebNews 0 13th August 2005 16:26
Lower Transition Costs to HD DVD Spur Manufacturers to Launch HD DVD First jmke WebNews 0 5th August 2005 15:10
ATI Multi VPU has master and slave card jmke WebNews 0 18th May 2005 16:39
World's first 8x double layer recordable DVD drive and media jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2004 08:35

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:38.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO