It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
[HT] Taskmanager shows 1 CPU, Device Manager 2 [HT] Taskmanager shows 1 CPU, Device Manager 2
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


[HT] Taskmanager shows 1 CPU, Device Manager 2
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd March 2004, 12:13   #1
Beauco
 
Posts: n/a
[HT] Taskmanager shows 1 CPU, Device Manager 2

Hi,

can someone explain to me why my taskmanager only shows one CPU and my device manager recognises my PC as "ACPI multi processor PC" and shows 2 processors installed? I am 100% sure HT is enabled in the BIOS.

ps: "view -> cpu history -> one cpu per graph" is greyed out

pps:
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
P4 3ghz
2048MB RAM
2x120GB SATA in RAID1
MSI FX5900XT
 
Old 2nd March 2004, 12:27   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Problems with the Windows install?

do you see 2 processors when loading up CPU-Z ?

did you install XP/2000 with HT enabled in the BIOS ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd March 2004, 12:55   #3
Beauco
 
Posts: n/a
Default installed an ran cpuz

Hi,

installed and ran cpu-z and it only finds one CPU.
HT has been enabled from the day I got it.
When I first installed my XP Isaw the two processors fine in Taskmanager it wasnt after I ran a repair explained in this Topic that this has started to occur.

But still ... how come Device manager DOES see 2 processors? Can this be a XP trick to use the HT technology but mask it as 1 CPU?

ps. the doc post says ACPI uniprocessor PC, my device manager says ACPI multiprocessor PC
 
Old 2nd March 2004, 12:58   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I think you should reinstall the XP install, something gone wrong with the APIC upgrade/install
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd March 2004, 13:04   #5
Beauco
 
Posts: n/a
Default BIG <sigh>

Bugger, actually dont want too!

fearing I will have the same drama getting my FX5900XT to work as I had last time!

So are you 100% sure that although XT seems to recognise the multiple CPUs (device manager), there is something wrong here?
 
Old 2nd March 2004, 13:06   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

try to revert the steps you took to get the APIC set up.. that "should" work.. "should"
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd March 2004, 13:12   #7
Beauco
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I guess!
here is what I think I will do;
- run aquamark3 now to get a baseline (current 3dmark03 score is 5428 btw)
- repair XP without pressing F5 to get normal install as before
- run aquamark3 and 3dmark03 again to get a score to compare.

tnx so far, I will let you know how I get on!
 
Old 2nd March 2004, 13:14   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

The HT will increase your Aquamark Score


http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=get...&articID=10 1
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd March 2004, 14:31   #9
Beauco
 
Posts: n/a
Weird ****

Ok, here is what I did: (results are pretty weird)

- Tests run with "dodgy" XP:
3DMark03 score: 5420
AquaMark score: 36814 (GFX:4746 CPU:8204)

- Repaired XP without "F5" -> HT recognised again!!! Still ACPI multiprocessor in Device manager but now also 2 CPU's in task manager and CPU-Z sees 2 CPUs too.

- Tests run:
3DMark03 score: (I broke a record by holding my breath over 10 mins while it ran ) 5425
AquaMark score: 36782 (GFX:4641 CPU:8862)

So .... my CPU score went up as expected (although I expected it to be higher) but my GFX score dropped 100 points ?!?!?

Weird ****, but anyway ... tnx for your help!

:slotje:
 
Old 2nd March 2004, 15:01   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default Re: Weird ****

Quote:
Originally posted by Beauco
but my GFX score dropped 100 points ?!?!?
straight from the APIC topic ->

Quote:
My experience with this is VERY positive, my 3DMark2001 score using the nForce IGP went from 2200's to 2600's. Windows works faster too. Give it a shot.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel K series relieve CPU multiplier limitation-Core i7-875K OC performance Review windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 5 12th August 2010 19:18
ProlimaTech Armageddon CPU Cooler Review jmke WebNews 0 9th July 2010 17:01
Corsair® Launches Air Series A70 and A50 High-Performance CPU Coolers jmke WebNews 0 2nd March 2010 09:05
Thermalright Shows off new High End CPU Coolers jmke WebNews 0 3rd June 2009 13:24
Titan Fenrir CPU Cooler jmke WebNews 0 29th April 2009 10:16
Intel shows off QX9300 Mobile CPU at 3.55GHz jmke WebNews 13 24th October 2008 05:58
Noctua shows off Socket 1366 Mounting Kit for their CPU Coolers jmke WebNews 0 9th June 2008 14:07
Myth of CPU temperature Sidney General Madness - System Building Advice 2 25th December 2004 16:38
ABIT Unveils CPU Accelerator Technology on AA8XE series, AA8-DuraMAX and AG8 jmke WebNews 0 9th November 2004 23:12
HOW-TO: find max FSB / CPU Speed jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 25th May 2002 17:13

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:26.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO