It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
harddrive setups harddrive setups
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


harddrive setups
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th September 2004, 19:11   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default harddrive setups

I had a maxtor 80 gb sata disk hooked up on my asus a8v with two partitions, and last weekend I hooked up my new rma-ed raptor 74 on the second sata channel, when the system boots I see both disks pass, but when in windows I see only the two partitions in my explorer.
when I go to system hardware, the raptor is there besides the 80 gb sata, and it seems to be functioning normally.
what is the problem?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 13th September 2004, 19:26   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

it is not partitionned
start/control pannel/admin tools/computer management
somewhere in the left menu, one of the last items 'disk management'
right clicking on any of the disks at the bottom gives you the option to format/partition/... them :-)
DUR0N is offline  
Old 13th September 2004, 19:42   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

man man man.
and then I own a 5000 euro setup.
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 13th September 2004, 19:57   #4
Laagvliegerke
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by calantak
man man man.
and then I own a 5000 euro setup.
ROFL
 
Old 13th September 2004, 21:51   #5
ThommY
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Does that raptor 74gb give a noticeable speed difference vs that 80gig maxtor of yours? (Planning on buying one my self)
 
Old 13th September 2004, 21:53   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,729
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

according to TerAngreal it makes a world of difference; He swapped his system drive with the older Raptor and his windows was flying compared to his normal WD.

close to SCSI speeds according to benchmarks
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th September 2004, 21:56   #7
ThommY
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok thx.
Should the 36GB version be sufficient for windows and progs?
Got 160Gb for data.
 
Old 13th September 2004, 22:02   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,729
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

36gb is MORE then enough for Win+APPS
can even fit your most played games on there with ease
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th September 2004, 22:03   #9
ThommY
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jea true, thx again. Will be getting one soon
 
Old 14th September 2004, 12:21   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

but the 36 gb version is just a little bit slower.

I had a raptor and it is actually faster than anything before
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Intel drivers add TRIM support for RAID setups jmke WebNews 0 22nd March 2010 13:03
Swiftech Announces Stackable Radiators for Water Cooling Setups jmke WebNews 1 23rd March 2009 11:56
The Fastest VGA Setups Examined jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2009 13:27
CrossFireX Arrives: First Look at 3 and 4 GPUs in 2 Card Setups jmke WebNews 0 10th March 2008 11:32
SimpleTech Deluxe external 160 gig harddrive jmke WebNews 0 24th March 2005 10:46
ASUSTeK Simplifies Installation of NVIDIA Multi-GPU Setups jmke WebNews 0 3rd March 2005 15:02
Harddrive Razorwolf In Demand 0 23rd July 2004 13:51
harddrive corruption because of overclocking kristos General Madness - System Building Advice 4 26th April 2004 18:44
Silence your harddrive piotke WebNews 3 4th January 2003 20:30

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:43.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO