It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Got an idea...wondering if its possible Got an idea...wondering if its possible
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Got an idea...wondering if its possible
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th December 2004, 06:47   #1
JoniNItro
 
Posts: n/a
Default Got an idea...wondering if its possible

So here is the plan. I like being able to have my instant messangers open or music playing while I am murdering people on Halo, or whatever game I am into at the moment, but I cant because I dont want to minimize to change music or have messangers popping into the middle of battle. I thought this would be a kick *** mod.

I would like to attach a small 5-7 inch lcd to the side of the main monitor and run my music or maybe my messanger programs from it. Could this work. The setup would be easy enough, but I need help with the application. could I just run it like dual monitors and have my game on the main screen and the others on the small one? Thanks for any help guys.
 
Old 6th December 2004, 15:39   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

The performance may not be ideal unless it is dual-procs setup. Intel HT is just a better way to isolate portion of idle CPU for better use.
Others may have better inputs.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 6th December 2004, 15:48   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the only way to do this is to have a device on your printer/com/usb port which allows you to send commands to the PC, and have a program running which can interpret them and change what you want accordingly.

there are all-in-one LCD/VFD screens out there with button control , and they should allow you to change Winamp tracks.

if you want to display winamp/msn in high res, then a small TFT would suffice, if room/space is no problem, go for cheapo 15" CRT
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 7th December 2004, 00:14   #4
JoniNItro
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So running it like dual monitors wont work. I can imagine that it I would need dual cpu's to run a game and msn etc. I was looking at some cheapy 15" LCD last night and maybe the way to go.
 
Old 7th December 2004, 00:28   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,700
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

"So running it like dual monitors wont work"

why not? MSN/Winamp does not take that much CPU power
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editorial: Intel X48 is a horrible idea jmke WebNews 0 20th November 2007 14:05
Acer Aspire Idea 500 Media Center System jmke WebNews 0 13th October 2006 13:51
DIY HDD silencing idea wutske Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 22nd January 2006 13:41
Is Outsourcing Tech Support Overseas a Good Idea? Sidney WebNews 1 1st August 2005 07:33
Is ATI following Nvidia's SLI idea? jmke WebNews 0 7th April 2005 13:18
little idea Gigamoller Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 5 19th April 2003 09:37

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO