It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
Got APIC? Got APIC?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Got APIC?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th June 2002, 23:08   #11
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

") In the menu that comes up shortly after, scroll up with the arrow keys and choose "ACPI Uniprocessor PC"
"

when I read this I assumed it was all about ACPI
/me looks like a fool

still post from you though, mine however...just provided proof that I look can like a dumb-***
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th June 2002, 23:31   #12
septimus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well it seems that you need to use ACPI Uniprocessor PC to take advantage of the new interrupt controlling method that APIC provides. APIC and ACPI probably run side-by-side anyhow.

I'll make some benchmarks and post them soon
 
Old 6th June 2002, 23:54   #13
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Well, I tried the thingie and had BSOD all over the place. I couldn't even boot windows in safe mode.

I tried undoing it by following the same procedure but instead of installing the "acpi uniprocessor" i chose the standard one. No luck. Had to re´nstall windows all over again.

For those who wanna try this thing: be sure to have made a backup...
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 6th June 2002, 23:59   #14
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,578
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

will try it on my spare Abit KX7 system first then
when I come back from Spain I'll finish the ramrev, then I'll try the tricky
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 7th June 2002, 00:08   #15
septimus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard
Well, I tried the thingie and had BSOD all over the place. I couldn't even boot windows in safe mode.

I tried undoing it by following the same procedure but instead of installing the "acpi uniprocessor" i chose the standard one. No luck. Had to re´nstall windows all over again.

For those who wanna try this thing: be sure to have made a backup...
Are you able to do a full repair re-install? By that I mean letting the install start normally and then let it get to the license agreement where you press F8? After that screen it should ask if you want to repair the installation in a listed path. If you do that you wont lose your registry and can resume normally i think.
 
Old 7th June 2002, 00:56   #16
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by septimus


Are you able to do a full repair re-install? By that I mean letting the install start normally and then let it get to the license agreement where you press F8? After that screen it should ask if you want to repair the installation in a listed path. If you do that you wont lose your registry and can resume normally i think.
Yup, i tried that... twice. :grum:
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 7th June 2002, 01:03   #17
septimus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Arrgh sorry to hear that. I wonder what sort of BSOD you got? IRQL_NOT_EQUAL_OR_LESS_THAN errors?

I guess if you have alot of data you dont want to lose by chance, make an ASR backup to another HDD or GHOST your installation before doing the APIC route.

I know that many before you that tried to do it on a KR7A found things to be unstable.

on the other hand, many got big performance boosts, especially to their RAID performance.

Since my system is made up to 100% on board stuff (nForce) I guess its much easier to have a successful install of ACPI Uniprocessor PC HAL.
 
Old 7th June 2002, 01:20   #18
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Well, there's no such thing as a free lunch. Most tweaks for boosting 3D Mark score won't work, or will even mess up your HW. So I'm not sad I tried it, there was only one way to know: trail & error.

I've got a KR7A... i removed all PCI cards, didn't work either.

I'll try again next time I do a completely fresh install.
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 13th June 2002, 05:42   #19
septimus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Preliminary Benchmark Results!
Using APIC version 1.4

Using 3DMark2001
Before APIC: 2237
After APIC: 2637

Using PCMark2002
Before: 3731 CPU, 3421 MEM, 347 HDD
After:3759 CPU, 3450 MEM, 416 HDD

Using Sandra 2002 (latest ver)
CPU Arithmetic:
Before: 3663/1821
After: 3682/1831

CPU Multimedia:
Before: 7276/8059
After:7309/8112

File System:
Before: 15715
After: 12187

Memory Bandwidth
Before: 1703/1701
After: 1718/1713

My 3DMark2001 score went up alot!

The machine to me feels like it processes much faster and i dont suffer from the same wait times that I was used to before the change to APIC. The difference seems negligible, but i personally find ANY addition to performance for FREE welcome!
just so you know, ALL of my devices, are onboard, including my video (the nForce IGP) and sound (the nForce MCP-D)

Everyone that I know that tried using APIC on their VIA KT266a or KT333 chipset mobos were largely unsuccesful installing or even running Windows XP with APIC enabled. I wonder what is causing all the trouble?

I must reccomend against those with VIA chipset based motherboards that have APIC capability to avoid using APIC altogether... but hey, you can experiement if you like
 
Old 13th June 2002, 13:59   #20
PlayboY
 
Posts: n/a
Default

maybe a noobish question, but does this also work with win2000?
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mobo can't get passed 250fsb with ram 1:1 kr15t0f Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 25 6th November 2004 08:11
KX7-333R and APIC septimus Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 1st December 2002 15:15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:19.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO