It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
geforce fx 5200 vs. nvidia geforce 6600 gt geforce fx 5200 vs. nvidia geforce 6600 gt
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

geforce fx 5200 vs. nvidia geforce 6600 gt
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old 12th February 2005, 14:34   #1
Posts: n/a
Default geforce fx 5200 vs. nvidia geforce 6600 gt


currently I'm owning a geforce fx 5200 128 MB. but now I want to upgrade to a nvidia geforce 6600 GT 128 MB. The price is approximately 215 Euro.

My question: can you advise me to buy this 6600 gt? So will i see a lot of difference in games?

system: intel p4 2.6 Ghz and 512 mb ram.

I've also seen another version of this card: the nvidia geforce 6600 DV ? what's up with that cause I don't trust the DV :s

Old 12th February 2005, 14:58   #2
Posts: n/a

yes! you will have a nice boost from the upgrade, the 6600gt is an mid range gfx and your current fx5200 is actually a "desktop" card, sot suited for games!

got a link from that DV?
Old 12th February 2005, 15:19   #3
Posts: n/a

Nope, lost the link sorry.

but can you give me an example in fps for let's say doom III or half-life 2.

I can give you the fps for my doom 3 settings:

medium quality

I get about 33 fps with my fx 5200. Can you say approximately how much fps I will get with that 6600 GT?

I'm just curious how much the boost will be with this upgrade.

thx, greetz
Old 12th February 2005, 15:31   #4
Posts: n/a

yes I can
Old 12th February 2005, 15:31   #5
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered

over 100%

you'll be playing it at 1024*768 hi quality
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 13th February 2005, 01:10   #6
Posts: n/a

Thx for your reactions.

but maybe still one problem. My power supply is only 300 watt. will this be any problem with this new 6600 GT? I have connected a dvd writer, dvd-rom, floppy, and geforce fx 5200 now. So the only change will be the 6600 GT. but will this be enough? If I have to buy a new power supply, is there a difference between supplies for ide or sata? just in case....

Is there maybe a program wich tells you how much your power supply is? don't think sisoft sandra 2005 has this feature...

and i have read something about a mole x connector that is needed because agp doesn't have enough juice for this card. is the mole x connector included with the card? and is it difficult to install?


Old 13th February 2005, 11:12   #7
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 692
[Bonbon] Freshly Registered

should be no problem
intelD820 (2*2.8), 1gb ram , 6600gt , lots of hdd
[Bonbon] is offline  
Old 13th February 2005, 12:21   #8
Posts: n/a

it depends, how many hard drives do you have?

The 6600GT is no power beast, but still!
What brand is your psu, if it is a cheap no name psu you probaly have to forget it!
Old 13th February 2005, 13:24   #9
Posts: n/a

yeah maybe I should order another psu, cause this one I bought together with my case and it wasn't expensive

thx for your help all.

Old 21st March 2005, 08:51   #10
Posts: n/a

The 6600GT AGP does need to be connected to your PSU via a molex connector. 400 watts is more the norm nowdays for PSUs and having a spare PSU around is advisable.
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driverheaven Nvidia Mobility Modder Released V1.1.0.0 jmke WebNews 0 6th August 2009 14:12
NVidia considers an across-the-board overhaul of its marketing strategy Shogun WebNews 4 9th May 2008 14:08
Diablotek nVidia GeForce 6600 256MB Sidney WebNews 0 9th November 2005 15:18
Nvidia GeForce 6600 & 6600 GT PCI-E & AGP graphics cards Sidney WebNews 0 21st April 2005 16:25
Softmodding the nVidia Geforce 6200 to 6600 Specs! jmke WebNews 0 19th October 2004 10:47
NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GPU Preview Sidney WebNews 0 23rd August 2004 03:59

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:08.

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO