It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
dual opteron worth it's price? dual opteron worth it's price?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


dual opteron worth it's price?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th June 2004, 08:51   #1
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default dual opteron worth it's price?

I'm looking for a new powerful workstation to replace my slightly underpowered 2ghz amd xp rig. I need (native) sata, gigabit lan and preferably 4 dimms.

I mainly use it to program, but I don't want to buy a seperate pc for the occasional gaming.

Should I go for a cheap s754 rig:

Motherboad:
Abit K8V Pro, K8T800 Pro powered.
S-ata, gigabit lan, only 2 dimms, s754.


Processor:
A64 2800+, 1.8Ghz, clawhammer, 512kb l2.

Total price: 261 euro


...or is a dual opteron worth it's price?

MSI K8 Master dual opteron s940 K8T800 powered.
S-ATA raid, 4 DDR333/400 DIMMs (ECC not required), gigabit lan, firewire, usb2, ...
=> 195 euro


Processor(s):

2* Opteron 242 (1.6Ghz) s940 boxed.
1MB l2, 166fsb, 1.6Ghz.
=> 2*227 euro

Total price: 650 euro.


Opinions? Should the lack of PCI-X hold me from buying a long term investment like the Opteron?
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 08:54   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

why do you want a KT800 Pro mobo?

go with the "cheap s754 rig"

triple price of Opteron won't translate into triple performance, not even double...
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 09:14   #3
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

I prefer K8T800 Pro above NF3 250GB because:
1) 4 sata ports instead of 2 is to no benefit for me, as I use another pc as fileserver.
2) integrated firewall is not really necessary, because I run linux and already am behind a firewall
3) software control tools are no benefit either, as they are windows only
4) nforce2 chipset have proven to be not very reliable over time, in contrary to ktxxx chipsets. I had 3 kt266 boards, al which survived heavy overclocking for a long time. I have had 6 nf2 boards, of which 5 (!!) died. 2 of them only had a malfunctioning bios, but it's hard to repair nonetheless. This doesn't mean their nf3 chipset sucks, but still...
5) they cost +- 20 euro more

Is abit planning to release a nf3 250gb motherboard? The bios of their KV8 motherboard is nothing but amazing!
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 10:11   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard

Is abit planning to release a nf3 250gb motherboard?
Nope, not at this point in time Intel Desktop Roadmaps No sign of multicores.... yet

Quote:
ABIT, one of the leading makers of mainboards for overclockers and computer enthusiasts, may postpone or cancel its mainboards based on NVIDIA’s latest flavour of the nForce3 core-logic. The reason for the possible move may be certain stability issues with the nForce3 250 product.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 10:16   #5
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke

The reason for the possible move may be certain stability issues with the nForce3 250 product.
Seems like they have their doubts too.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 10:28   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

still go with the S754 rig though, KT800 Pro or nForce3, I only opt for the nForce3 for the storage facilities, the more connections , the better, hooking up 8x200gb drives to the mobo becomes a reality
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 14:37   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard

4) nforce2 chipset have proven to be not very reliable over time, in contrary to ktxxx chipsets. I had 3 kt266 boards, al which survived heavy overclocking for a long time. I have had 6 nf2 boards, of which 5 (!!) died. 2 of them only had a malfunctioning bios, but it's hard to repair nonetheless. This doesn't mean their nf3 chipset sucks, but still...
how many of them were crappy epox boards?
DUR0N is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 14:43   #8
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

3.

Epox KT266A boards where excellent though, my brother has his running for more than a year at 190fsb no problems at all.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 14:50   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

the Epox nForce3 board offers best overclocking possibilities according to Anandtech.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 18th June 2004, 15:37   #10
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have 2 Epox 8RDA+. Both are still working fine.

Then again, if you are expecting it to do 1GHz FSB, that's not the boards problem. Both mine are doing 200 fsb all the time.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Opteron 2356 Dual Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 16th April 2008 08:57
IWILL ZMAXdp Dual Opteron SFF Barebones System Evaluation jmke WebNews 0 29th December 2006 16:44
AMD Opteron 10/30/2006 Price Cuts jmke WebNews 2 11th October 2006 18:15
AMD readies big Opteron price drops Sidney WebNews 0 15th October 2005 17:30
Arima Dual AMD Opteron SW300 & SW310 + Quad AMD Opteron SW500 Sidney WebNews 0 31st May 2005 16:29
Tyan dual Opteron dual PCI E 16X nForce Pro board for sale Sidney WebNews 0 6th February 2005 04:46
Iwill adds dual Opteron nForce 4 SLI, new Athlon slim small form factor jmke WebNews 0 24th October 2004 18:41
Dual Core 90nm Opteron First Glimpse jmke WebNews 0 2nd September 2004 09:22
IWILL Shows Dual Opteron, PCI Express Workstation Platforms jmke WebNews 0 26th May 2004 23:24
Gigabyte Announces Integrated Video Athlon 64 and dual Opteron motherboad jmke WebNews 0 17th April 2004 13:21

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:51.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO