It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
budget graphical workstation (950 euro) budget graphical workstation (950 euro)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


budget graphical workstation (950 euro)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st September 2009, 23:43   #1
ubuntu_demon
 
Posts: n/a
Default budget graphical workstation (950 euro)

Hey,

I'm selecting parts for a new system for a friend with the following requirements :
* 2d/3d graphical workstation. he says he'll mostly use 2d
* he just started being a student to become an architect
* he doesn't need luxury. he wants to save money where possible but still have quality parts.
* he doesn't want to overclock
* he doesn't want to play games
* he doesn't care about preventing rendering artefacts by buying a workstation graphics card
* the system can't be more expensive than the one I've selected (about 950 euro)
* he wants to be able to use the following software :
+ adobe CS4 (indesign and photoshop) : shader model 3.0 and opengl 2.0
+ sketch up 7 : recommends graphics card with 512 mb ram and not to use intel or ati
+ autocad 2010 : microsoft 3d capable workstation graphics card
* I think the Q9550 should stay because it's a nice quad core cpu.
* He doesn't want to spend money on a SSD or raid-mirror

I have selected the following parts :

1 Antec Three Hundred Zwart about 59
2 Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro about 23
3 Asus P5Q-E about 116
4 Corsair HX450W about 68
5 Iiyama ProLite E2407HDS-1 about 212
6 Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 about 188
7 2x Kingston ValueRAM KVR800D2N5K2/4G about 99
8 Logitech Value Keyboard about 14
9 Logitech Value Optical Mouse about 15
10 Club3D 9400GT HDMI Passive about 40
11 Samsung SH-S223F about 25
12 Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS, 1TB about 88
total about 950 euro

My questions :
* Is the videocard powerful enough ? Since he doesn't need a workstation card and doesn't play games.
* Should I recommend Windows 7 64 bit or Windows XP 64 bit ?
* Does the artic cooling freezer 7 pro come with paste ?
* the memory isn't listed on the P5Q-E QVL but it's very populair memory (cheap and quality brand). Is this a problem ?
* Did I oversee some compatibility problem (for example regarding the size of some parts) ?
* Does the videocard fit in the case ?
* Do the psu and case fit together ?
* should the PSU be mounted top-down ?
* I think the PSU is powerful enough even if he would switch to a workstation graphics card later on (Quadro FX 580 for example). Do you agree ?
* Does anyone have any recommendations/feedback ?


Thank you very much in advance!

Last edited by ubuntu_demon : 1st September 2009 at 23:54.
 
Old 2nd September 2009, 10:12   #2
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't see any compatiblity problems at first sight. Now for your questions:

Quote:
* Is the videocard powerful enough ? Since he doesn't need a workstation card and doesn't play games.
The card is powerfull enough for both 2D and 3D applications. Since he just started as an architect student, he'll probably won't be rendering too heavy designs in autocad, so it's powerfull enough.
Quote:
* Should I recommend Windows 7 64 bit or Windows XP 64 bit ?
Windows 7, because you can't get XP anymore (or at least it's very hard to get on non OEM pcs or netbooks). Just don't forget that Windows 7 x64 only accepts signed drivers and supports even less legacy hardware than Vista.
Quote:
* Does the artic cooling freezer 7 pro come with paste ?
yes
Quote:
* the memory isn't listed on the P5Q-E QVL but it's very populair memory (cheap and quality brand). Is this a problem ?
The list is very limited (because they can't test everything) and in my humble opinion useless (we recently had a topic about a Gigabyte motherboard that couldn't run with the memory modules they had on their list)
Quote:
* Did I oversee some compatibility problem (for example regarding the size of some parts) ?
No
Quote:
* Does the videocard fit in the case ?
It's not a big card and the antec case isn't small either, so it'll fit
Quote:
* Do the psu and case fit together ?
Yes, that's why there are standards
Quote:
* should the PSU be mounted top-down ?
Dunno ?
Quote:
* I think the PSU is powerful enough even if he would switch to a workstation graphics card later on (Quadro FX 580 for example). Do you agree ?
The FX580 has a TDP of 40W whereas the 9400GT has a TDP of 50W, so it shouldn't be a problem at all .
Quote:
* Does anyone have any recommendations/feedback ?
Not at the moment

Last edited by wutske : 2nd September 2009 at 10:14.
 
Old 2nd September 2009, 10:20   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
* should the PSU be mounted top-down ?
it possible, have the PSU pull in cool air from the outside the case; but in Antec 300 case at the bottom there is no grill; so just let the PSU fan help remove hot air from the case.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd September 2009, 22:42   #4
ubuntu_demon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wutske thank for your feedback!
 
Old 2nd September 2009, 22:44   #5
ubuntu_demon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
it possible, have the PSU pull in cool air from the outside the case; but in Antec 300 case at the bottom there is no grill; so just let the PSU fan help remove hot air from the case.
Thanks for your feedback.

So I should put it in top down (at the bottom of the case) so it helps to remove hot air from the case ?
 
Old 3rd September 2009, 08:29   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Antec 300 has the mounting for the PSU at the bottom, if your PSU has in intake fan, make sure it's pointed upwards
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 3rd September 2009, 17:34   #7
ubuntu_demon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
Antec 300 has the mounting for the PSU at the bottom, if your PSU has in intake fan, make sure it's pointed upwards
Thank you!
 
Old 3rd September 2009, 17:37   #8
ubuntu_demon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If we only look at the performance of the software he wants to run. Which operating system would perform better ? Windows XP (64 bit) or Windows 7 (64 bit) ?

Does anyone have any other recommendations or feedback ?

Thank you very much in advance.

Last edited by ubuntu_demon : 3rd September 2009 at 17:40.
 
Old 3rd September 2009, 17:58   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

depends if his software is written before/after Vista introduction

if his software is older... it will run better under XP; if newer, it should work with 7
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 4th September 2009, 20:10   #10
ubuntu_demon
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
depends if his software is written before/after Vista introduction

if his software is older... it will run better under XP; if newer, it should work with 7
thanks
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Talent Launches PCIe RAIDDrive Workstation Edition jmke WebNews 0 27th May 2009 18:32
LEADTEK Launches“VIVA EURO 2008”Lucky Draw to Offer More Than 400 Prizes! jmke WebNews 0 14th May 2008 13:33
AMD 3D Workstation Graphics Card with DisplayPort Support jmke WebNews 0 31st March 2008 14:34
ATI Introduces Its Next Generation Mobile Workstation Graphics Technology jmke WebNews 0 7th February 2006 19:26
NVIDIA Controls Market of Workstation Graphics jmke WebNews 0 24th October 2005 22:26
ATI's Momentum in Workstation Graphics Continues to Build jmke WebNews 0 12th April 2005 14:04
Super OC materiaal + andere high performance parts HaLDoL For Sale 15 22nd September 2004 18:14
IBM, Intel Announce Mobile Workstation Pilot for Design Engineers Sidney WebNews 0 8th June 2004 07:43
IWILL Shows Dual Opteron, PCI Express Workstation Platforms jmke WebNews 0 27th May 2004 00:24

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:36.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO