It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
AMD 4800+ PSU issue AMD 4800+ PSU issue
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD 4800+ PSU issue
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th September 2005, 10:44   #1
HackerSmith
 
Posts: n/a
Default AMD 4800+ PSU issue

I'm putting together a new system, and am looking for a light powersupply that I can depend on to power these components, is 650 watts with 36 amp 12+v enough? I want to have some breathing room also so that I might upgrade the system in the future and to insure I am never underpowered
I've considered using 2x400 watt psu but

system is as follows:

Amd 4800+
UT-Lanparty SLI-DR
NEC 3540a (dvd burner)
2x7800gtx BFG oc
4xhitachi desktar (2 TB)
2xWD raptor hd (142 gb)
 
Old 14th September 2005, 16:49   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Unfortunately there is no such thing as "future proof".

I believe power consumption on PC has reached the peak; everything from now on will focus on less power loss and less power consumption. 65 and 45 nm processor and graphic chip will either maintain the current power consumption or less with higher performance.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 14th September 2005, 23:43   #3
HackerSmith
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes I realize this, but I mean some breathing room to add extra components not upgrade my whole system. You still didn't answer my question about whether a 650 watt will cut it for this setup.
 
Old 14th September 2005, 23:57   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Instead of giving Yes/No ... here is a simple way to calculate your needs -

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 15th September 2005, 10:55   #5
Rutar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think there are only few units that offer more power than 36A. However the massive HD array worries me.

Also make sure you got a good case cooling with that PC.
 
Old 15th September 2005, 11:11   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if you want to play safe, use 2 PSU's, and hook all your HD to one, your system & graphics cards to the other.

hotwire the PSU's to start at the same time. done!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 19th September 2005, 00:07   #7
HackerSmith
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the reply Jmke, this is something I had considered already. The thing is I'm somewhat worried about how much 2 powersupplies will weigh. I'm modding this into a backpack and the 4 hitatchi deskstars themselves already weigh 10 lbs.... So looking for a light+powerful solution. The psu I've found so far that SHOULD work (if my numbers are all correct) weighs only 6 lbs.
 
Old 19th September 2005, 08:56   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

a backpack? to carry from car to office?

or really go travelling with it?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 27th September 2005, 13:04   #9
HackerSmith
 
Posts: n/a
Default

its just a simple case mod, I don't plan to make it into a must have for every travel junky, but the lighter it is the less strain on my back.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Radeon HD 5830 delayed after issue was found during validation process jmke WebNews 0 28th January 2010 15:11
AMD Launches 45nm Triple Core Phenom II with DDR3 support jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2009 09:26
AMD Announces Widespread Availability and Broad Global OEM Support for New Quad-Core jmke WebNews 0 13th November 2008 16:17
Photos and more details on AMD 4800 series jmke WebNews 7 27th May 2008 10:03
AMD GAME! Enables Console-like Simplicity for Mainstream PCs jmke WebNews 9 19th May 2008 20:51
AMD Introduces ‘AMD Business Class’, Designed With Business in Mind jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:33
AMD Launches World’s First x86 Triple-Core Processors jmke WebNews 0 27th March 2008 15:16
AMD Introduces Three New Dual-Core AMD Opteron™ Processors jmke WebNews 0 12th March 2006 19:25
Creative Soundblaster nForce 4 chipset issue, Is AMD Delaying 65nm? Sidney WebNews 1 16th October 2005 16:30
AMD Introduces Line of Low-Power, High-Performance AMD Geode Embedded x86 Processors Sidney WebNews 0 24th May 2004 06:10

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:14.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO