It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
AMD@ 2Ghz vs P4@3.55Ghz: 1-0? AMD@ 2Ghz vs P4@3.55Ghz: 1-0?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD@ 2Ghz vs P4@3.55Ghz: 1-0?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th August 2003, 15:00   #21
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

true, synthetic benchmarks dedect default speed, but programs like 3dmark do increase in speed.

"some versions of windows"...? i'll install SP1, see if that solves it.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 15:15   #22
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,715
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I don't think that will help
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 15:30   #23
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

It would be pretty odd, if a program released on 18th august 2003 doesn't work well in Win XP...

It doesn't hurt to update, i'll report back in half an hour.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 15:42   #24
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

SP1 didn't do it. Installing other updates too.


I'm sure now the incorrect mhz recognition is the cause of appearantly low performance!

When I boot at 2600mhz, and change the speed to 3500mhz, i'm 100% sure my machine is actually running at 3500mhz, but windows doesn't adapt to the changed speed.

When i launch a game of vice city, it's like the game is on crack: everything goes a bit too fast. Your car feels like it does 300kph, but your speedometer still says 200kph.

An excellent example is an old DOS game without a frame limitter on a new machine: they don't adapt to the high speed.

I hope there's a fix for this error.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 15:51   #25
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

my guess is, you put that CPU in another motherboard and it will not perform like this.

like said on shrimp, I can clock much higher with clockgen then when I use the Bios.
I don't believe it.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 15:53   #26
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

You don't believe the cpu is running at 3550mhz stable, or you don't believe my system would not crash with a cold boot at 3550 mhz?

What happens if you compare your 4ghz bios oc with a 4.3ghz clockgen oc?


-edit-

If i set clock speed to 3500mhz, and i reset, the post screen says "3.55Ghz". Is that cheating too?

-edit2-

Latest version of cpu-z shows correct speed.

I'm going to compare these two situations:
a) Boot at 2600mhz, oc in windows to 3300 & bench.
b) reboot at 3300mhz & bench
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 17:59   #27
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

very very interesting what we see here!

I wanna know how this turns out
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 18:07   #28
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

CPU scaling seems to be ok, and there is no difference between a) & b) in performance.

(In situation a, not all apps dedect the correct speed, in contrary to situation b).
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 18:14   #29
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,715
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

difference 2.8 <> 3.0 is almost nihil, but 3.0 <> 3.2 is alot
how come?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 18:21   #30
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

You tell me? I'm just showing the test results. All options were left the same.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patriot Viper 2 Sector 5 DDR3 2GHz (PVV34G2000LLKB for Core i5) jmke WebNews 0 28th September 2009 12:46
Kingston HyperX DDR3 3GB 2GHz Memory Kit KHX16000D3K3/3GX jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2009 15:36
Kingston HyperX 2GHz DDR3 3GB Triple-Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 29th January 2009 10:29
OCZ Technology Announces the World’s First High-Density 2GHz Solution jmke WebNews 0 5th May 2008 15:55
Corsair Announces 2GHz High-Speed DDR3 Memory for NVIDIA 790i Ultra SLI jmke WebNews 0 18th March 2008 20:42
Radeon X1k, Core 2 Duo E6300 et FEAR - Bug at 2ghz jmke WebNews 0 18th October 2006 07:19
1GHz Chinese Dragon chip "as good as 2GHz Pentium" jmke WebNews 0 30th March 2006 13:19
EPoX introduces 2Ghz HT Nvidia NFORCE™3 Ultra mainboard EP-9NDA3+ jmke WebNews 0 5th August 2004 15:51
755 of the Pentium M most significant models appears, operates with clock 2GHz jmke WebNews 0 9th June 2004 15:31
1800+ Tbred A @ 2Ghz NockE Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 17 24th January 2003 20:05

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:06.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO