It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
AMD@ 2Ghz vs P4@3.55Ghz: 1-0? AMD@ 2Ghz vs P4@3.55Ghz: 1-0?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


AMD@ 2Ghz vs P4@3.55Ghz: 1-0?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th August 2003, 00:37   #1
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default AMD@ 2Ghz vs P4@3.55Ghz: 1-0?

I've got my new rig up and running: a P4 2.6C on a 865G motherboard (Asus P4P800-VM). If you disable the onboard grafics (which i did), it performs exactly the same as a 865PE motherboard according to several websites.


The cpu is an excellent overclocker: after playing games for a few hours, 3550mhz (273fsb) proved to be fully stable at stock voltage with aircooling.

I've reinstalled windows properly on a formatted disk, installed dx9, intel chipset drivers & the latest catalyst drivers.

Everyting seems to run ok, but 3Dmark 2001 score is ~15500 and 3dmark 2003 is 6000 (r9800 @ 425/375)... which is about exactly the same as my XP1800+@2000mhz on a budget asus nf2-400 motherboard with silent cooling.

The performance difference between the 3:4 / 4:5 memory divider is neglegible.

-edit-
P4 is single channel (1*256mb bh-5) because it fails to boot with my repaired bh-5 stick, in contrary to the nf2 rig.
-edit-

Does Intel suck (CPU costs 5 times as much as my AMD), or is something horribly wrong?
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 00:51   #2
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

our P4 2.53, P4T533 and 256MB RIMM PC1066 performs slightly better then my KR7A, 1700+ at 2Ghz and a stick of 256MB mem at FSB 190

dazzling, I'll never buy Intel again. Intel doesn't suck, they're the fastest... but you do pay the price of it.
 
Old 24th August 2003, 00:59   #3
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Blord - 22073 --- P4 2,6C @ 3600 - R9800 @ 495/392
Okay, his gpu speed is 70mhz faster, but that DOES NOT make 6000 3Dmarks difference. Something must be wrong...
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 01:07   #4
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

perhaps the high FSB is slowing you down?

try lowering the speed a bit, you might get lagspikes in 3dmark if you're clocking too high.
 
Old 24th August 2003, 01:35   #5
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Nope, the score increases linear (14500 at 3000mhz). No glitches whatsoever.

What does dragon test stress? It's way too low, but the other scores aren't too good either.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 08:38   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

so it's not dual channel ?

there's your problem.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 10:44   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

dual channel does boost an intel quite substantially...
@ 3.5 (as I normally run 24/7) the difference with my 200*10 amd (office pc) is GIGANTIC in favor of the intel...
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 10:57   #8
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Do me a favour, dual channel does not give you 5000 extra 3Dmarks. I'd be suprised if it would give me a +500 boost.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 11:40   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

just get you another module, plug it in and see for yourself

it DOES make a hughe difference.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 24th August 2003, 12:25   #10
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

If i gain 5000 3dmarks, i'll treat you 30L Stella.

The motherboard fails to work with the repaired winbond bh-5 stick, so it will take a while before i can test dual channel.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patriot Viper 2 Sector 5 DDR3 2GHz (PVV34G2000LLKB for Core i5) jmke WebNews 0 28th September 2009 12:46
Kingston HyperX DDR3 3GB 2GHz Memory Kit KHX16000D3K3/3GX jmke WebNews 0 17th March 2009 15:36
Kingston HyperX 2GHz DDR3 3GB Triple-Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 29th January 2009 10:29
OCZ Technology Announces the World’s First High-Density 2GHz Solution jmke WebNews 0 5th May 2008 15:55
Corsair Announces 2GHz High-Speed DDR3 Memory for NVIDIA 790i Ultra SLI jmke WebNews 0 18th March 2008 20:42
Radeon X1k, Core 2 Duo E6300 et FEAR - Bug at 2ghz jmke WebNews 0 18th October 2006 07:19
1GHz Chinese Dragon chip "as good as 2GHz Pentium" jmke WebNews 0 30th March 2006 13:19
EPoX introduces 2Ghz HT Nvidia NFORCE™3 Ultra mainboard EP-9NDA3+ jmke WebNews 0 5th August 2004 15:51
755 of the Pentium M most significant models appears, operates with clock 2GHz jmke WebNews 0 9th June 2004 15:31
1800+ Tbred A @ 2Ghz NockE Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 17 24th January 2003 20:05

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:00.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO