It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice
9800 GTX BE PSU SLI Question 9800 GTX BE PSU SLI Question
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


9800 GTX BE PSU SLI Question
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th June 2008, 18:43   #1
Proweedsmoker
 
Posts: n/a
Default 9800 GTX BE PSU SLI Question

So, I have a 9800 GTX BE (Black edition) and seeing how gthe price has droped so much in the past few weeks, I would like to get myself another to SLI.

My question is how much PSU will I need to keep everything running smooth. Just rebuilt the PC abotu a month ago and got a OCZ 750w Sli rdy PSU.

Now seeing the GFX uses 2x 6pin connecters, Im curious will this 750w be enuff to SLI the cards.

Any input or advice would be much help.

Thanks,
Pro

(System specs: 8400@3.4, MSI P7N Plat. OCZ 750Psu, Vistax64+sp1, OCZ 8gigs sli ready ram@2.1v)
 
Old 27th June 2008, 19:00   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

750W is sufficient for SLI with 9800GTX,
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 27th June 2008, 19:04   #3
Proweedsmoker
 
Posts: n/a
Default

TY very much kind sir. Now to hope the gain from the SLI will be noticable and worth the 230bucks hehe.

Will post with new 3dmark scores when I get it : )
 
Old 28th June 2008, 03:09   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Triple SLI I do know will not pass
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd July 2008, 10:49   #5
Proweedsmoker
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok so, my 2nd card should be in soon, and I come to beg advice yet again.

So, I have 2x HD's in my computer. One running vista ultimate w/ Sp1 and one running XP HE Sp3.

So, Im not really looking to OC the cards any, and my core is already done. Im looking for advice on what OS to use for the best preformace from my rig.

Vista or XP- All I do is game and watch movies.

Second question is, among all the beta and forceware drivers out there, what would you recommend to give my GPU's what they need to, version wise. There is soooo many : (

And lastly, My MB came with 1x Sli link, but my cards have room for 2x- Will I need 2 links or will 1 do? Again, I only have 1 atm.

TY very much for all you help you have given me thus far,

~Proweed
 
Old 2nd July 2008, 11:14   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

- XP still offers best gaming experience, faster at same IQ
- the latest official forceware drivers should do nicely; don't go beta unless you don't care about stability
- 1xSLI bridge is enough for SLI. The second connector is for Tri-SLI config only
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 19:24   #7
Proweedsmoker
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, small problem atm. Installed the card on lunch break and come to find out, I dont have enuff power connecters to use 2x 6pin's per card. Even with converting the 4pins into the 6. Making 2x 6 pins leaves me without 2x 4 pins for the CD roms... lol

Can I use just 1 6pin per GFX card? Will it affect my proformance? Should I look into a new PSU? lol

Never ending struggle.

TY much for you always as always
 
Old 3rd July 2008, 20:12   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

without both connectors performance of the card will be in "low" mode due to insufficient power. You can use Y-splitter for the 4-pin CDrom to salvage extra connectors
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:06   #9
Proweedsmoker
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, Hope Im understanding this right.

With the Y connectors, I can connect both sides and use 1x side for the 6pin and 1 side for the roms? Kinda like a jump configuration. If I can do that, I will have enuff to power everything I believe.
 
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:10   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,756
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I would make sure to split rails though. that you don't hook up all 6-pin to the same set of 4-pin molex.

The Y-splitter will allow you to add one extra 4-pin "per split";
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Galaxy and Palit GeForce GTX 470s in SLI Overclocked jmke WebNews 0 31st May 2010 18:06
Galaxy none-reference 9800 GTX does Tri-Way SLI jmke WebNews 0 9th August 2008 11:15
Foxconn GeForce 9800 GTX OC 512MB Video Card jmke WebNews 0 4th June 2008 11:45
NVIDIA 3-way SLI with three NVIDIA 9800 GTX Review jmke WebNews 0 25th May 2008 17:24
XFX 9800 GTX Black Edition Video Card Review jmke WebNews 0 20th May 2008 17:25
Palit 9800 GTX review and SLI testing jmke WebNews 13 21st April 2008 08:04
[M] Leadtek 9600 GT SLI reviewed and compared with 9800 GTX jmke WebNews 1 20th April 2008 22:05
Leadtek 9600GT SLI reviewed and compared with 9800 GTX jmke Articles & Howto's 0 20th April 2008 22:04
nVidia 9800 GTX and SLI / 3-Way SLI Performance jmke WebNews 0 1st April 2008 13:10
Nvidia announces the ultimate gaming notebooks. SLI enabled, 8800m GTX cards jmke WebNews 0 29th January 2008 09:47

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:44.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO