It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > For Sale - LAN Parties - Other > Off-Topic Hangout
ESKY FP 4-Channel Heli ESKY FP 4-Channel Heli
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


ESKY FP 4-Channel Heli
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th December 2007, 05:04   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default ESKY FP 4-Channel Heli

After I toyed around the 2-channel, I got myself a nice after Christmas present ....
ESKY Honeybee V2 4-channel



The 6-channel 3D model came across my mind. After much thought, I concluded that 3D would be too much for me to handle; it is more complicated. It will cost more when it crashes; I know I will crash it many more times to come.

There is hardly any good product reviews on electric helicopters other than less than a handful in detail. It seems the good pilots belong to elite club/forum and seldom spread their secrets. I have spent days in finding out this "sub-culture society".

After hours of searching, this is the only review I found that meets some of the PC hardware review approach ..... still not complete after I spent the last three hours with my new Heli. http://www.tomsguide.com/us/test-fly...eview-914.html

The Golden Rules to setup/start an electric RC heli ..... or you'd better be ready to get hurt or break something.

NEVER plug in the battery when the controller is OFF.
ALWAYS turn on the controller FIRST, making sure the throttle is set at bottom plus the trim before you connect the battery.
Attached Thumbnails
esky-fp-4-channel-heli-screenshot001.jpg
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 28th December 2007, 09:07   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

those goldens rules apply to ANY RC toy, boat, car or heli had some RC cars run wild because batteries in remote were dead, at 40+km/h they are hard to catch
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 28th December 2007, 09:39   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

With RC electric Heli; plugging in the battery without the controller on to calibrate the gyro, the result could be dangerous. The gyro kicks in to full throttle and servos run in all directions.... with new electronics in the past few years, RC heli comes a long way.

These golden rules should be mentioned everytime on pre-flght checks.

My gas RC cars in the old days with controller running low on battery were best hit the curb with no one got hurt.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 2nd January 2008, 21:35   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Interesting read of the same model

http://www.johnsreviews.com/reviews/...eybee_pt1.html

I have had a couple of "minor" crashes; only to find out one of the batteries I used (came with the model) had a dead cell. The blades hit the sofa frame on the tips and broke one of the blade link. I managed to wrapped some electrical wire around with glue until spare part arrives. The link part is inexpensive @ $1.24. My second crash came at a height of about 2 feet; hard landing, broke the skid and 4-in-1 hanger, I hot glued them back on.

I now managed to clip some of the tips from several forums to make a complete check list of how to, what to watch out for, what spare parts to buy and what not to buy based on total cost before getting a complete frame without the electrical parts.

It does feel "good" when I was able to hover in the middle of the living room for a few seconds.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 6th January 2008, 21:36   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Amazing 4-year-old on the control.

__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 6th January 2008, 22:44   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if he can grow up to perform those movements in a real one, would be spectacular
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual channel memory problem phunk Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 16 7th February 2010 13:06
Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 i7/i5 Optimized 4GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 30th November 2009 14:52
OCZ XMP Ready Series DDR3-1600 6GB Triple Channel Memory Kit Review jmke WebNews 0 31st August 2009 11:04
OCZ Unveils 2000MHz Triple Channel "Blade" Kit thorgal WebNews 0 19th December 2008 11:42
G.Skill presents PI Black Ultra-Fast Triple Channel Memory 2000HMz kits jmke WebNews 0 2nd December 2008 11:24
OCZ Technology Introduces Intel Extreme Triple Channel Memory Series jmke WebNews 0 22nd November 2008 15:44
OCZ Technology Announces Availability of the World's First Triple Channel Memory Kits jmke WebNews 0 17th October 2008 11:50
Quad-Core AMD Opteron™ Processor-based Platforms Available in Channel Today jmke WebNews 0 9th April 2008 13:33
Seagate Ships Half-Terabyte Nearline-Ready SATA Drives to the Channel jmke WebNews 0 12th January 2006 01:23
VIA Announces KT880 Dual Channel Chipset for the AMD Athlon XP Processor jmke WebNews 0 12th February 2004 16:39

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:38.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO