It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Wireless setup Wireless setup
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Wireless setup
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th September 2004, 16:11   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default Wireless setup

Due to the construction of the building i think the best solution would be to have 2 access points (in stead of one with big antenna). This would be 2 times a D-Link AirPlus Xtreme G DI-624 Wireless Router.
This way access will be great throughout the building, i only need 1 IP (doubts ?) and i still have an option to plug in a cat5 directly in the router at two places.

Going for Scarlet ADSL with high upload.

Already have a modem (Alcatel home touch).

Sharing and security are not extremly important as the house is fairly isolated from other houses.

Remarks ?
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 24th September 2004, 16:40   #2
the maniak
 
Posts: n/a
Default

why are u going from the modem to the switch and not to 1 of the routers

get 1 router and 2 accespoints

put the modem on the wanport of the router and the accespoints on the lanports.

if u realy want the possibility to plug in a cat5 cable in @ the accespoints, u need to switch them over to routers, with the dhcp disabled probalby
 
Old 25th September 2004, 11:22   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the maniak
1) why are u going from the modem to the switch and not to 1 of the routers

get 1 router and 2 accespoints
put the modem on the wanport of the router and the accespoints on the lanports.
1 switch + 2 routers/acc-points = cheaper
But price is not a very important factor as all home routers / switches / acc-points are cheap. Could even go for 3 acc-points for optimal connectivity.
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 25th September 2004, 13:24   #4
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you can't go from your modem to a switch, unless you have a built in router already, and even then the routers/AP's don't do anything but act as an IP.

Go from the modem directly to router/AP 1 and have a cable connect router/AP 1 to router/AP 2

Give both a different IP, but the same channel, WEP key, etc etc etc. Deactivate the DHCP, gateway etc. of router/AP 2, since router/AP 1will be handeling all of that.
 
Old 25th September 2004, 22:06   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Thanks for the remarks, specially those concerning the AP setup.

The route you described is quite impossible because of building limitations.
I can "pull" a straight cable from the modem to AP1 or AP2, but not to AP1 and then to AP2.

I would deactivate DHCP anyway.

Could people with wireless AP's give me an average range in which their connectivity is OK (lossless) in house.
As far as i know the average is about 20 meters.

Second thing i want to know is if the connectivity is really bad when the AP is behind a wall (even if the distance is only 1 or 2 meters)
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 25th September 2004, 22:31   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Two stories house; about 25 meters never have any problem.

Floor and walls in between make no difference in my case.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 8th November 2004, 20:48   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Unpacking DI-624 till surfing cabled : 4min 30sec

Making changes to telephone-centrale and laying one cable from that central (and the modem) to a central point in the house for the router : 8 hours

Looking for some tool to measure the wireless network throughput on a notebook ... while i wander around the house
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 8th November 2004, 21:29   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Ah, there's a tool in the dlink xtremeG utility.
Walls are thick here, lots of concrete. I'll have to install a second transmitter on the ground floor too.
Coverage on the first floor is OK.
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 8th November 2004, 22:27   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

11mbit ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th November 2004, 23:19   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
11mbit ?
auto !

108 Mbit ? not seen yet
54 Mbit within 10 metres
...
6 Mbit : slowest on the ground floor (router on first floor) about 20 metres in direct line

Not a lot of time as i have some financial results/papers and accompaning headaches to overwin by tommorow
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How-To: Quick Wireless Setup With Ubuntu 8.04 Massman WebNews 0 27th September 2008 10:09
AIRGO UNLOCKS FIRST WIRELESS CHIP TO OUTSTRIP WIRED SPEEDS: 240Mbps jmke WebNews 0 19th September 2005 20:11
Wireless Networking: Setup and Security jmke WebNews 0 29th March 2005 17:05
Intel Advances Intel Centrino Mobile Technology with New Wireless Capabilities Sidney WebNews 0 27th August 2004 07:52
How To Setup A Wireless Home Entertainment Center Sidney WebNews 2 9th August 2004 23:53
D-Link 802.11g Wireless Presentation Gateway Enables Simultaneous Sharing of Presenta jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2004 17:24
QUALCOMM and ATI Join Forces to Create Wireless 3D Gaming Platform jmke WebNews 0 23rd March 2004 15:37
QUALCOMM and ATI Join Forces to Create Wireless 3D Gaming Platform jmke WebNews 0 22nd March 2004 13:20

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:38.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO