It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Windows XP setup for WD Raptor SATA Windows XP setup for WD Raptor SATA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Windows XP setup for WD Raptor SATA
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th September 2004, 01:07   #1
Makaveli7
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows XP setup for WD Raptor SATA

Trying to install windows on a brand new rig:
Motherboard: ABIT NF7-S
CPU: AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+
RAM: Corsair XMS3200
Harddrive: Western Digital Raptor 36GB

I'm trying to install Windows XP Pro on the Raptor drive but due to the drive being brand new its unformatted (although I did use the mobo's ctrl + s raid bios to perfrom 'low level formatting'). The problem is I don't have any other IDE drives and can't format and partition the drive thus windows installer can't use it. What DOS based program can I prepare the drive with?
 
Old 20th September 2004, 08:14   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Are you using a bootable Windows XP cd?
if so, just set the cdrom to primairy boot, when the setup starts press F6 when you see "press F6 to load..."

then insert the RAID controller floppy which came with with the Abit N7F-S board

after that you can just select the drive and Windows setup will partition & format the drive before copying its installation files. installation will continue afterwards without problem
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 20th September 2004, 13:21   #3
Makaveli7
 
Posts: n/a
Default

managed to find out why it wasn't accepting the drive. Using the 134 sata driver, then tried using 132 and it worked fine. Ahh the joys of SATA.

on a seperate issue any recommendations on oc'ing an AMD athlon xp-m 2500+? Got it running at 11x200 at 1.6V (2200mhz = 3200+) solid as a rock with temps at 31C idle and 37C load. Should I drop the multiplier and up the fsb? and what voltage is it safe to go up to?
 
Old 20th September 2004, 13:26   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

1.85v should be safe, be sure to provide enough cool air to the CPU, should be able to boost your CPU speed another 200-300Mhz with a bit of luck

increasing the FSB will also yield you a performance increase if your motherboard and memory allow low latency timings, otherwise you might be better of with 200 @ low timings vs 220 high timings.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 20th September 2004, 13:37   #5
Makaveli7
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I live in Scotland and do not like paying heating bills so cold air is in plentiful supply. Can I not keep the RAM at SPD thus fsb won't affect RAM settings? The RAM is really overclockable tho so I should be able to ramp up the fsb with RAM set to Auto?
 
Old 20th September 2004, 13:46   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,739
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

what memory do you have, quite essential to the mix
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 21st September 2004, 01:33   #7
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows XP setup for WD Raptor SATA

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli7
RAM: Corsair XMS3200
XL?

1.85V should be ok judging by the temps you have now.
My mobile already runs quite hot (50+C) with a zalman cpns 7000 cu and Vcore @ 1.7 bios 1.65 CPU-Z reading.

If your Corsairs are XL, they'll probably reach 250mhz @ 3-4-4-8 timings (SPD timings?), judging by the reviews, so you should be capable of running high fsb on auto setting. you're motherboard may hold you back though...

PS: check these out, I found them very helpfull:

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=gethowto&howtoID=43
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=133
 
Old 21st September 2004, 15:08   #8
ssl6
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you should be able to get more thna 11x200 with 1.6v. especially if you've got as much cool air as you say

nice av btw, tupac's amazing
 
Old 22nd September 2004, 01:46   #9
Makaveli7
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Corsair is Memory CMX512-3200C2
any good? I got ripped off when I bought it but thats another story..............
 
Old 22nd September 2004, 02:44   #10
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

they're good sticks, just not top of the line.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Install and Setup Windows Home Server jmke WebNews 0 1st February 2010 15:44
175 Windows 7 Tweaks, Tips, and How-To Articles jmke WebNews 2 23rd October 2009 15:00
Microsoft Patch Tuesday: 5 Criticals, 2 Important, 1 Moderate Patch jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2009 19:47
Microsoft Security Bulletin Summary for September 2008 jmke WebNews 0 9th September 2008 20:20
Microsoft Security Bulletin Summary for August 2007 jmke WebNews 0 14th August 2007 23:21
Microsoft Security Bulletin Summary for February 2007 jmke WebNews 0 14th February 2007 01:25
Microsoft Security Bulletin Summary for June 2006 jmke WebNews 0 14th June 2006 21:51
List of fixes included in Windows XP Service Pack 2 jmke WebNews 1 17th August 2004 16:03
Microsoft Changes Mind on Windows 98 Support jmke WebNews 0 13th January 2004 13:04
Setup isn't starting Windows 2000 BOERteun Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 8th February 2003 23:07

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:05.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO