It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Is Vista for gaming ? Is Vista for gaming ?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Is Vista for gaming ?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th May 2008, 13:08   #1
kunal32
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is Vista for gaming ?

Hello friends im new on this forums

Whats the best operating system for gaming?
I have xp and also have an option of Vista home. Would this be better with a higher version of vista?
going to run a phenon or core 2 quad 6600

any help appreciated
 
Old 28th May 2008, 13:25   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

WinXP DX9 will give you higher FPS in all games; some Vista titles (2-3) offer slightly better GFX with DX10 but it has a large impact on performance.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 28th May 2008, 18:12   #3
Kougar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

XP for games. Games is one of the few things that still don't function properly under Vista... For example every time I exit TF2 the game "crashes" instead of closing properly. Vista always has done this, was never fixed. Ditto on the huge performance hit.
 
Old 29th May 2008, 17:19   #4
Qgirl
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i would suggest partitioning ur hard disk, one for XP and one for Vista. Yes Xp is better in terms of compatibility now but there some games out there which can only operate one Vista for eg. Company of Heroes. By havin 2 partitions and 2 windows, u can play all the DirectX 9 and 10 games on the market =D
 
Old 29th May 2008, 17:48   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

COH works perfectly under XP
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 29th May 2008, 23:43   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,202
BlackRabbit Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
WinXP DX9 will give you higher FPS in all games; some Vista titles (2-3) offer slightly better GFX with DX10 but it has a large impact on performance.
For now
BlackRabbit is offline  
Old 30th May 2008, 00:03   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I'm afraid it will be for longer than you'd expect. You see, it took developers less than a year to find valid and noticeable improvements going from DX8.1 to DX9. We're still not even close to impressive differences worth switching over to DX10 here...

You do know that the main advantage of DX10 is not better graphics, but reduced driver overhead compared to DX9. Meaning that DX10 can do effects with a single pass/less work for the system compared to DX9. Reducing CPU usage however is not going to change performance much for gaming which is GPU/Video card limited

Microsoft's own Flight Simulator X which was to be a the "showcase of DX10" turned out not to look as expected/promised (not even close); visually not stunning or particularly better compared to a DX9 version; and its runs like a dog on anything but the most powerful systems.

I don't look forward to DX10 only titles; Microsoft was set to push some to be DX10 only to help sell Vista; but that didn't really turn out as expected, DX9 will stay around for quite a some time; 75% of the PCs out there still run DX9/XP. Unlike the 98>2000 or 2000>XP conversion, there is no real incentive for end users to use Vista over XP.

This leaves the gaming market with XP/Vista (75/20% currently) and if you want to sell your game and make it a success, you might want to consider going with the biggest user base: DX9.

Then add the fact that the XBOX 360 can't handle DX10 (it's somewhere between DX9 and DX10) and every multi-platform game is bound to developed to look good on DX9/XBOX360 with maybe a bit of fluff for DX10.

so "for now" may turn out a bit longer than you think
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 30th May 2008, 07:49   #8
Qgirl
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
COH works perfectly under XP
Yup it does! I juz went to check out the game details online...i was confused by the fact that it only runs on DirectX10 as the game came wif a DirectX10 installation disc..so if it's for DirectX 9, den why gimme the DirectX 10 disc?
 
Old 30th May 2008, 08:36   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that version will work on both XP/Vista; there will be two executables for the game.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compro intros VideoMate Vista H900F PCI Analog TV card jmke WebNews 0 19th February 2009 17:58
VideoMate Vista E850F PCIe Hybrid DVB-T & Analog TV/FM Card jmke WebNews 0 19th December 2008 09:47
Compro Launches VideoMate Vista E900F PCIe Dual DVB-T & Analog TV/FM Card jmke WebNews 0 25th August 2008 16:27
A Second Shot: Windows Vista SP1 jmke WebNews 0 27th February 2008 21:50
List of Programs with know Issues in Vista SP1 jmke WebNews 2 23rd February 2008 17:26
Release notes for Vista SP1 - or things that will break your computer jmke WebNews 4 6th February 2008 12:03
How Vista would look like if I was in charge Rutar General Madness - System Building Advice 14 10th March 2007 19:59
Windows Vista Review, Part 3: Installing Windows Vista jmke WebNews 0 11th November 2006 10:36
Windows Vista Tweaking Guide jmke WebNews 0 9th October 2006 16:13
Microsoft Unveils Windows Vista Product Lineup - 6 versions jmke WebNews 0 27th February 2006 12:24

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:37.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO