It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Virtual vs Logical Partition Virtual vs Logical Partition
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Virtual vs Logical Partition
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th October 2005, 17:30   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default Virtual vs Logical Partition

What is the difference?

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...027082522.html
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 30th October 2005, 15:16   #2
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it's not about partition on the hard drive, but computing partitions of the CPU.

It's somewhere between hyperthreading and multi coring.
It's optimized for running more then one OS at the same time (MS virtual PC or VMware)
 
Old 30th October 2005, 15:21   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Put brain in gear BEFORE engaging mouth.
Exactly like you quoted I did not read the whole thing
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 31st October 2005, 13:57   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,724
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

VMware is vewwy cool
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st November 2005, 16:02   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
VMware is vewwy cool
It is, but you beter have a s-load of ram.
DUR0N is offline  
Old 1st November 2005, 16:06   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,724
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

8GB enough?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st November 2005, 16:40   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
8GB enough?
In one machine? Nice.
I'm stuck at 1gb because reg ecc is so damn expensive (when looking at normal ram)
DUR0N is offline  
Old 1st November 2005, 17:04   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,724
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DUR0N


In one machine?
one day
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st November 2005, 19:30   #9
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DUR0N


It is, but you beter have a s-load of ram.
512mb, works allright , just don't dedicate to much to the virtual machine
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Run Linux in a Virtual Desktop thorgal WebNews 0 22nd June 2009 13:28
Vuzix Introduces iWear® VR920, Fully Immersive Virtual Reality Video Eyewear jmke WebNews 0 11th September 2007 19:44
Can't format partition wutske General Madness - System Building Advice 2 22nd February 2007 17:28
Convert Physical Machines to Virtual Machines for Free jmke WebNews 0 31st January 2007 14:59
FINAL Part of the Virtual Memory Optimization Guide Rev. 4.0 Da_BoKa WebNews 0 16th November 2004 23:33
Virtual Memory Optimization Guide Part 4 jmke WebNews 2 13th November 2004 13:50
Virtual Memory Optimization Guide Part 3 Sidney WebNews 0 7th November 2004 18:12
Virtual Memory Optimization Guide jmke WebNews 0 31st October 2004 12:34
Virtual machine shootout: Virtual PC vs. VMware jmke WebNews 0 2nd August 2004 11:35

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:58.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO