It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
"system failed cpu test" "system failed cpu test"
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


"system failed cpu test"
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th December 2002, 21:14   #1
- XIII -
 
Posts: n/a
"system failed cpu test"

hey,
Bought some new hardware stuff about a week ago and yesterday it finally arrived. I, with full enthousiasm, went to work and wanted it running the same day. Ok, so far so good, everything went fine till i turned on my pc. A voice kept saying: "system failed cpu test" , WTF never heard that before. ok lets reboot then, maybe this will help but nooo it doens't help. Lets remove all pci cards, agp card, harddisk, cd ... and lets try again. Result: nothing except a womans voice keep saying the same message.

new configuration: Asus A7V333 mobo
amd athlon xp 2400+ cpu
pc2700 512 ddr
and also new hd and agp card, but those wont be the cause of problem, in my opinion.

Anybody who has an explenation or had a problem similar to mines ? I'll appreciate any kind of help.
 
Old 19th December 2002, 22:00   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

http://www.asuscom.de/inside/Techref/qa-mb0822.htm

Q: The PostReporter gives the message "system failed CPU test" on A7V333. Why?

A: A7V333's system failed CPU test issue is caused by users carelessly setting up the CPU multiplier. If users have chosen the original CPU multiplier setting package, the BIOS can detect the CPU and pass the POST. If the setting does not match the CPU's exact speed, the POST will see this setting as false, then give out a message like "system failed CPU test".

try clearing the bios.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 19th December 2002, 22:49   #3
- XIII -
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Doesn't work , i didn't even touch the multiplier before. Have no idea what the problem can be :\ but i heard that i am not the lonely guy with that kind of message.
 
Closed Thread

« cab | Catalyst 3.0 »

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel K series relieve CPU multiplier limitation-Core i7-875K OC performance Review windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 5 12th August 2010 19:18
ProlimaTech Armageddon CPU Cooler Review jmke WebNews 0 9th July 2010 17:01
Corsair® Launches Air Series A70 and A50 High-Performance CPU Coolers jmke WebNews 0 2nd March 2010 09:05
Socket LGA1156 compatible Scythe CPU Cooler jmke WebNews 0 8th September 2009 08:35
Titan Fenrir CPU Cooler jmke WebNews 0 29th April 2009 10:16
The powerful VapoChill® CPU cooler goes mainstream: VapoChill Micro jmke WebNews 5 8th March 2005 20:27
Myth of CPU temperature Sidney General Madness - System Building Advice 2 25th December 2004 16:38
ABIT Unveils CPU Accelerator Technology on AA8XE series, AA8-DuraMAX and AG8 jmke WebNews 0 9th November 2004 23:12
"system failed vga test" : Asus A7N8X-E deluxe mobo prob bengie Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 22nd June 2004 14:08
HOW-TO: find max FSB / CPU Speed jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 25th May 2002 17:13

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:50.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO