It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
start up programs start up programs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


start up programs
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th August 2002, 18:25   #1
parakiet
 
Posts: n/a
Default start up programs

i there a way to configure which program has tpo start first on start up?

i just upgrade my firewall program but now it starts up latest...

any way to shift it up a few places?
 
Old 10th August 2002, 23:39   #2
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://search.tucows.com/search

search for "startup"
http://www.tucows.com/system/preview/224745.html
http://www.tucows.com/system/preview/195916.html

votre service...
 
Old 11th August 2002, 01:38   #3
parakiet
 
Posts: n/a
Default

but is there a "windows way"?

i'd rather would use something in windows, than using other extra programs
 
Old 12th August 2002, 10:34   #4
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

edit your registry
 
Old 12th August 2002, 11:28   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,343
TerAngreal Freshly Registered
Default

let's presume you're using WinXP (seen your HWsetup, i guess it's logical to do so ) -- then this might be a way ...

i never tested / needed this, but it just came to mind as something that has a chance to work (hey, with windows, you never know)

start MsConfig
(start --> run --> msconfig)

then go to the startup tab

and finally, try changing the startup priority of the displayed apps in any way ... i can't test this right away because of the win98 installation on this pc (well, i can clearly say this trick doesn't work with win98, but let's hope that changed in the meanwhile aye ), but you just might want to give it a try ...

**btw | Teus : ... might have got a good hint there, but maybe try telling him justy how to do so ... if he'd knew how to , he wouldn't have asked
TerAngreal is offline  
Old 12th August 2002, 13:29   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

@TerA , changing order, priority of start-up apps is a no-go!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 12th August 2002, 15:17   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,343
TerAngreal Freshly Registered
Default

cr*p ... was worth giving it a try aye

you just tried it or knew that already ?
TerAngreal is offline  
Old 15th August 2002, 16:40   #8
parakiet
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well i tried one of those shareware programs and it didn't actualy change the startup order but i did help in another way.

i have an audigy si i had that stupid splash...
it sslowed down the startup but that's gone now
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remotely Start Your Car Using A Cellphone jmke WebNews 0 20th January 2010 17:02
List of Programs with know Issues in Vista SP1 jmke WebNews 2 23rd February 2008 18:26
How to Make Windows Start Faster Sidney WebNews 1 6th December 2007 23:51
MacMini Core Duo start up time Sidney WebNews 0 5th March 2006 06:19
To start or not to start Bosw8er Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 12 29th September 2005 10:09
Open-Source Software Alternatives to Windows Programs jmke WebNews 0 22nd March 2005 14:08
IWILL Set to Start Supplies of Dual-CPU Barebones jmke WebNews 0 28th December 2004 23:11
Start Up button 187(V)URD@ Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 20 17th March 2004 16:05
mobo doesn't start up biCker Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 16 18th September 2002 14:23

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:25.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO