It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
"Standard PC" - Install = geen "geavanceerde" power management? "Standard PC" - Install = geen "geavanceerde" power management?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


"Standard PC" - Install = geen "geavanceerde" power management?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th August 2002, 22:42   #1
ChAoS Overlord
 
Posts: n/a
"Standard PC" - Install = geen "geavanceerde" power management?

Ik heb dus mijn pc begin deze week geformateerd en voor de verandering heb ik op F5 geduwd bij het booten en gekozen voor "standard pc". Nu mis ik enkele opties zoals

- standby
- mooi afsluiten van windows als ik op de shutdown toets duw
- ...

Wat kan ik doen om al deze mooie (ACPI- (?) )functies te activeren zonder een volledige reinstall te moeten doen?

FYI: 't Is Win XP Pro
 
Old 8th August 2002, 22:51   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,987
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Start -> Control Panel -> Power Options -> TAB APM -> Enable Advanced Power Management
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th August 2002, 22:54   #3
Member
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Reboot
BIOS : check if you can enable APIC
Reboot
Hit F5 en choose MPS Uniprocessor

If you cannot enable APIC => hit F5 en choose ACPI
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 9th August 2002, 08:22   #4
ChAoS Overlord
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bosw8er
Reboot
Hit F5 en choose MPS Uniprocessor

If you cannot enable APIC => hit F5 en choose ACPI
This works during a reboot? I thought it was only when installing a windows 2k/xp?
 
Old 9th August 2002, 08:51   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,987
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

You are right ChAos

Enabling/Disabling APIC has nothing to do with power management.. did you try the control panel yet?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 9th August 2002, 08:54   #6
Member
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
You are right ChAos

Enabling/Disabling APIC has nothing to do with power management.. did you try the control panel yet?
... but when using the MPS Uniprocessor the power manegement works like before.
APIC + MPS unip. = 128 IRQ's

first suggestion of JMke is easier .... of course
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 9th August 2002, 09:10   #7
ChAoS Overlord
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes I tried with the APM thingy in control panel, but the power off button still doesn't shut down windows in a nice way.

This is what they told me on another forum:

add hardware - legacy apm installeren

en dan apm aanvinken
 
Old 9th August 2002, 09:17   #8
ChAoS Overlord
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Anyway, I don't want my IRQ's shared across all my components, I don't know the big difference between MPS and ACPI.

BTW: I have APIC 1.4, my mobo is a MSI KT3 ultra (KT-333 chipset)
 
Old 9th August 2002, 09:23   #9
ChAoS Overlord
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I tried your "reboot --> bios --> press F5"-thingy. When I do that I just go to a OS choice menu, where I can choose between safe mode and such or revert to a last known working config. I don't see anything with ACPI, or MPS.

I know the F5 thing works when Installing windows 2K/XP, but when it has been installed ????
 
Old 9th August 2002, 10:03   #10
Member
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Device manager -> Computer -> Properties (of standard PC in this case) -> Driver -> update or change -> show list -> choose ACPI or MPS or whatever

reboot

have drivers ready just in case
Bosw8er is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Bridge Turns Cord Management Upside Down jmke WebNews 0 7th September 2009 11:48
Thermaltake Toughpower Cable Management 750W Power Supply jmke WebNews 0 29th January 2009 10:29
PC Power Management, ACPI Explained In Detail jmke WebNews 1 11th July 2007 10:53
Novell, AMD sync up on SUSE Linux power management Sidney WebNews 0 27th June 2007 03:38
Performance and Power Management Technologies in Intel Processors jmke WebNews 0 13th December 2006 11:09
Save Your Energy: Power Management Technology jmke WebNews 0 8th November 2006 15:27
AcBel 500W power supply with power management LCD jmke WebNews 0 15th December 2005 18:17
List of fixes included in Windows XP Service Pack 2 jmke WebNews 1 17th August 2004 15:03
TI Introduces New Power Management ICs to Enhance OLED Color Displays jmke WebNews 0 31st March 2004 08:34

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO