It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
some problems after overclock *sigh* some problems after overclock *sigh*
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


some problems after overclock *sigh*
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th May 2006, 16:53   #1
cR00zIFI><3r
 
Posts: n/a
Default some problems after overclock *sigh*

Hello fellow-shrimpers,

About a week ago, I had these weird problems with my pc (it blacked out occasionally) and soon I found the problem: my northbridge-heatsink had come of and was hanging bu 1 pin to the mobo. OK, I thought, no problem, just put some paste between it, and slap it back on. I took advantage of the moment to install a new CPU I had lying around. (I replaced a Duron 1600@2200 with a Thoroughbred 2400+ (AUIHB)).

So far no problem actually...

But then, after a day or so (everything went fine), I started overclocking again. I eventually tried to run Prime with the CPU at 10x185FSB @ 1.6V. I did this when I was at school (wednesday morning). When I came back, the PC was 'frozen' and after I pushed the reset button, the screen turned black and stayed black, whatever I did.

I tried replacing the CPU, but that doesn't help...

Does anyone know what the problem might be? And if it's ****ed up, what would be the best thing to buy now?

some specs:
mobo: epox 8rda+ rev 1.0
CPU: AMD Thoroughbred 2400+ AUIHB (I believe)
mem: Twinmoss with winbond BH5 chips (400mhz)
graka: Hercules 9800 np flashed to pro

Thanks!!
 
Old 13th May 2006, 17:04   #2
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

I had a similar problem with multiple 8rda+ motherboards. The problem is not your cpu, but you fried a capacitor on your 8rda+ due to overheating.

Did you have decent casecooling? High fsb makes the 8rda+ melt like snow in summer. Look for popped/brown capacitors.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 13th May 2006, 17:15   #3
cR00zIFI><3r
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard
I had a similar problem with multiple 8rda+ motherboards. The problem is not your cpu, but you fried a capacitor on your 8rda+ due to overheating.

Did you have decent casecooling? High fsb makes the 8rda+ melt like snow in summer. Look for popped/brown capacitors.
uhu...I forgot to mention that...
the capacitors around the mosfets are popped and leaking on top...although casecooling was good (2x80mm just behind them)

ok, so mobo is broken...

What would be the best option you think?? Find a cheap socket a mobo and continue until next generation CPU arrives, or buy now?
 
Old 13th May 2006, 18:05   #4
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cR00zIFI&gt;&lt;3r


uhu...I forgot to mention that...
the capacitors around the mosfets are popped and leaking on top...although casecooling was good (2x80mm just behind them)

ok, so mobo is broken...

What would be the best option you think?? Find a cheap socket a mobo and continue until next generation CPU arrives, or buy now?
If can solder (or know somebody that can), you could replace the caps that are broken.
If your current cpu is enough, it's best to get a SocketA mobo. Otherwise you could upgrade to S939 (or S775), but remember that most of these motherboards do not have AGP.
I don't know wich generation you would wait for, AM2 isn't worth it, conroe performance isn't that much better, so ... (+ plus then you'll need a new PCIe vid card and new DDR2 memory).
 
Old 13th May 2006, 19:03   #5
cR00zIFI><3r
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HardFreak


If can solder (or know somebody that can), you could replace the caps that are broken.
If your current cpu is enough, it's best to get a SocketA mobo. Otherwise you could upgrade to S939 (or S775), but remember that most of these motherboards do not have AGP.
I don't know wich generation you would wait for, AM2 isn't worth it, conroe performance isn't that much better, so ... (+ plus then you'll need a new PCIe vid card and new DDR2 memory).
I looked something up about those caps a while ago, and I believe they are quite expensive. I will probably just buy a new Socket A mobo.
Does anyone know where I can find an Abit NF7-S or something like that? or something better than that...I lost track of hardware world some time ago (I'm also thinking of DFI or Epox)
 
Old 13th May 2006, 19:07   #6
OCTB Crew
 
jort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: mechelen(belgium)
Posts: 2,037
jort Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HardFreak


If can solder (or know somebody that can), you could replace the caps that are broken.
If your current cpu is enough, it's best to get a SocketA mobo. Otherwise you could upgrade to S939 (or S775), but remember that most of these motherboards do not have AGP.
I don't know wich generation you would wait for, AM2 isn't worth it, conroe performance isn't that much better, so ... (+ plus then you'll need a new PCIe vid card and new DDR2 memory).
they do have agp...

msi , asus...., abit..., and even dfi

Dfi NF3 ultra D


asus A8V



__________________
watercooling, chilled water,direct phase change, cascade, custom modding
jort is offline  
Old 13th May 2006, 19:29   #7
cR00zIFI><3r
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yeah, I know, but I think it's not really smart to buy a mobo with only AGP support, when PCIe is about to be the next standard in videocards...
 
Old 13th May 2006, 20:09   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

your cpu's are already outdated...

you can get good value at ebay for those items, and I think it's time for you to see what the new stuff is all about

Go for Conroe or AM2 (if your AMD minded) or S939 with an albatron mobo with dual GPU support (if you don't want to upgrade your GPU right now.)

It's all about how much you want to spend on something that's already outdated when it's new....
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 13th May 2006, 21:57   #9
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cR00zIFI&gt;&lt;3r
yeah, I know, but I think it's not really smart to buy a mobo with only AGP support, when PCIe is about to be the next standard in videocards...
I agree with that. I've got the same problem. The processor of my desktop pc (1.86Ghz Dothan) is more than fast enough, but AGP is currently no fun if you want a decent videocard. A 7800GS (agp) is okay, but it costs as much as a much better 7900GT (pcx).

If i were you i'd by a cheap s939 motherboard with pcx and a cheap A64. It isn't the fastest available, but it won't cost you a lot money, you don't have to upgrade your memory and you can buy a decent videocard.

eg forcom.be
Gigabyte K8N51GMF-9 (nVidia 6100/nForce430: 68 euro
AMD Athlon64 3000+ 64bit Boxed sck 939 Venice: 114 euro

You can use the onboard videocard if you're not into gaming, and this upgrade would cost you less than 200 euro.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 13th May 2006, 22:11   #10
cR00zIFI><3r
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RichBa5tard


I agree with that. I've got the same problem. The processor of my desktop pc (1.86Ghz Dothan) is more than fast enough, but AGP is currently no fun if you want a decent videocard. A 7800GS (agp) is okay, but it costs as much as a much better 7900GT (pcx).

If i were you i'd by a cheap s939 motherboard with pcx and a cheap A64. It isn't the fastest available, but it won't cost you a lot money, you don't have to upgrade your memory and you can buy a decent videocard.

eg forcom.be
Gigabyte K8N51GMF-9 (nVidia 6100/nForce430: 68 euro
AMD Athlon64 3000+ 64bit Boxed sck 939 Venice: 114 euro

You can use the onboard videocard if you're not into gaming, and this upgrade would cost you less than 200 euro.
and what if I am into gaming (and oc'ing) ??
my dad is willing to sponsor a socket A mobo, but he doesn't want to pay for a whole new system
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Unlock Overclock Guide and Intel Core i7 Suitcase Contest jmke WebNews 0 30th June 2010 13:15
GIGABYTE Radeon HD 5870 1GB Super Overclock Video Card jmke WebNews 0 13th May 2010 20:37
GIGABYTE Extends Ultimate Super Overclock Series with HD 5870 SOC Graphics Card jmke WebNews 0 11th April 2010 10:32
Optimal GPU Overclocking with GIGABYTE’s New Super Overclock Series jmke WebNews 1 2nd September 2009 19:31
MSI R4830 512MB Overclock Edition jmke WebNews 0 19th November 2008 14:54
ABS makes overclock easier - DFI Lanparty DK P45 CPU overclock 636MHz achieved windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 23rd August 2008 15:02
e2160 overclock problems [Bonbon] General Madness - System Building Advice 4 9th June 2007 12:17
Internet connection problems wutske General Madness - System Building Advice 1 29th October 2005 10:17
Let's Overclock the alienware: Area-51™ pc.! |-Black-| Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 18 13th February 2005 13:49
Some really odd problems & f*cked up performance teki Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 27th November 2003 15:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:52.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO