It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Pc prob Pc prob
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Pc prob
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th December 2003, 11:42   #1
bambix
 
Posts: n/a
Pc prob

A few months ago, i installed winXP on my system. The installation went fine, and the system was running fine too.
But, when my computer was shut down for a longer time, and when i booted then , the system crashed ad the winXP loading screen. I rebooted, and again it crashed, i did it again and again, but it kept on crashin at the winXP loadin screen.
Untill a time, i let the crashed loadinscreen stand on, for about 10minutes. After 10 minutes i rebooted again, and everything went fine, winxp loaded, and the system runned fine again.

I kept on having the same same poblem, but everytime when the computer runned 10 minutes on the crashed loading screen, i rebooted, and everyting was fine.
It was like the computer needed to warm up first, before i could use it

I could live with that fact, because my computer was running practitcly 24/7, so it wasn't shut off for a long time that much.

BUT. 2 Weeks ago my mobo-fan died, so i had to replace it.
I dismantled the whole computer and placed a new fan.

I booted the system, and again the crashed loading screen appeared, notting going on i thought, because it was very normal
I waited 10 minutes, and rebooted, but it kept on crashin.
I waited 10 minutes, 20 minutes, 30 minutes, before rebooting, but now it realy kept on crashin.
I spent 2 times 3 hours on rebooting the system on and on, but it didn't helped.

At first i thought it was my harddisc(ntfs), because the led wasn't burnin when the system crashed. Replaced the harddisc by another, this one was fat32.
But the problem remained
installed win2000 on both discs, but still the same prob

Now i installed win98 on the fat32 and now my pc is running fine again.

But imo win98 sucked, and i would like to go back to winXP, but my system doesn't except it

DO you have any advice or so ? What can be the problem for this?
I thought maybe the mobo, but that can't be, because it is running fine on win98 now....

mobo: Matsonic 8127c Via apollo kt 133 Socket A
Hd: ntfs: Maxtor 40Gb
fat32: Maxtor 20 GB
Processor: AMD athlon 1400+
gfx-card: 3dprophet kyro hercules 4500 tv-out

Any help is appreciated!

Somebody told me, by replacing my fan, static electric could have ****ed up my bios ? Is that possible ?
 
Old 6th December 2003, 12:11   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

in my humble opinion it is crappy memory....

could you run memtest86, and tell us the results ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 6th December 2003, 17:09   #3
bambix
 
Posts: n/a
Default

what memory does it test?
The porg is running for 2.5 hours know, is that normal ?
 
Old 6th December 2003, 18:00   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

normal ram memory...

you have the DOS based version,y ou are running from a floppy ? In that case: If you still don't get an error after 2.5 hours of running, your normal ram memory will be fine
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 6th December 2003, 18:24   #5
bambix
 
Posts: n/a
Default

3.5 hours, 0 errors
so that's not the prob
 
Old 11th December 2003, 11:55   #6
bambix
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok, so now i have converted my ntfs-disc to a fat32 disc with pm, and installed win98 on it. ==> works fine

so the prob isn't the harddisc either.
It has got something to do with the os, because win98 works fine, and win2000/xp doesn't work !!

any suggestion are more than welcome ......
 
Old 11th December 2003, 12:05   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

could be the mobo "Matsonic 8127c Via apollo kt 133 Socket A"

pretty no-name, maybe some driver conflict in Win2000/XP


I've ran an Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) for years with Win2000 without problems though.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 08:29   #8
bambix
 
Posts: n/a
Default

updated all drivers, updated bios, still no works on winxp
 
Old 14th December 2003, 11:03   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

did you enable APIC in the bios?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"system failed vga test" : Asus A7N8X-E deluxe mobo prob bengie Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 22nd June 2004 14:08
i think HD prob StaRflaM Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 4 2nd May 2004 23:38
nf7 prob jakkerd Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 9 27th February 2004 17:41
Asus P4G8X temp sensor prob ??? Pirre Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 5 31st March 2003 00:24
Temp prob. (i think). Erik701 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 16th January 2003 16:54
My little Windows XP crash prob. (Dutch) ChAoS Overlord Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 15 29th August 2002 08:58
Battlefield 1942 installation prob biCker Off-Topic Hangout 0 27th August 2002 23:21
P4 2266 Mhz prob Rule Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 23rd August 2002 15:54
OS install prob Corax Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 2 9th August 2002 09:39
Nero Wave editor prob Elvito Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 0 6th August 2002 14:15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:38.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO