It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
PC doesn't run as it should PC doesn't run as it should
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


PC doesn't run as it should
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th August 2004, 12:25   #1
Falc
 
Posts: n/a
Default PC doesn't run as it should

PC doesn't run like it should

I have:
amd Xp2600+ @ 2.1 ghz
twinnmoss 2*512 mb pc2700
radeon 9800 pro 128 mb
msi kt6 delta moederbord
win xp pro @ sp1
300W PSU

dx9b, latest via drivers, catalyst, etc.
I reinstall windows every month

I have to put everything on low setting in joint operations demo and even then it runs at 20 fps if some players are on screen.

BFV runs on medium settings, 1024*768 at 40 fps when some players are on screen (way to low for good aiming).

I can run Call of duty on max setting but i have often fps drops to 30.

Doom runs smooth at medium and 1024-768 but fps drops to 15 when 3 monsters are on screen.

some scores
AquamarkScoreRender: 4821
AquamarkScoreSimulation: 5517
AquamarkScore: 33553



I've scanned with anti norton for virusses, some other prog for trojans and ad aware for spyware, everything is clean.

So any idea's on what might be wrong ?
 
Old 4th August 2004, 12:49   #2
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

since you use the latest drivers all the time, maybe you should try some older drivers instead. Some of wich you know they'll work the way they should.

Start with the vidcard drivers offcourse
 
Old 4th August 2004, 12:50   #3
Falc
 
Posts: n/a
Default

already tried it, no difference
 
Old 4th August 2004, 13:06   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Run a stresstest (prime or others) on the PC to test the stability.

If your PC passes the test the problem should be your vidcard, either drivers or the card itself or bios settings ... or a combination
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 4th August 2004, 13:07   #5
Falc
 
Posts: n/a
Default

where can I find that ?, I think my problem is the cpu, because, 3dmark score is high
 
Old 4th August 2004, 13:15   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

http://www.madshrimps.be/forums/show...s=&threadid=71

Looks like you only have problems playing games, if the cpu was the problem you should have other problems ... except if you only use the PC to play games. How hot is the cpu running btw ?

Reinstall windows every month !? :wtf:
Get yourself an image program ... pronto !
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 4th August 2004, 13:18   #7
Falc
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wel actualy I have some problems in windows to, sometimes my desktop locks up for a few minutes, almost like pc can't follow.

btw the radeon is only 2 weeks old, but I had the feeling pc wasn't running good either with my ti4200.
 
Old 4th August 2004, 13:25   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,577
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

then you certainly have a problem related to the windows install, did you install VIA IDE drivers?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 4th August 2004, 13:29   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Very quick test :
- power off the pc
- remove the side panel
- put a fan/blower next to the pc, let it blow onto the components
- power on the pc
- test games
- post findings here
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 4th August 2004, 13:33   #10
Falc
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a 30 cm fan blowing right in my pc

I did a cpu test with prime

MD Athlon(tm) XP 2600+
CPU speed: 2093.92 MHz
CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, PREFETCH, MMX, SSE
L1 cache size: 64 KB
L2 cache size: 256 KB
L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
L2 cache line size: 64 bytes
L1 TLBS: 32
L2 TLBS: 256
Prime95 version 23.8, RdtscTiming=1
Best time for 384K FFT length: 32.901 ms.
Best time for 448K FFT length: 38.595 ms.
Best time for 512K FFT length: 41.060 ms.
Best time for 640K FFT length: 53.886 ms.
Best time for 768K FFT length: 64.297 ms.
Best time for 896K FFT length: 76.439 ms.
Best time for 1024K FFT length: 86.175 ms.
Best time for 1280K FFT length: 116.259 ms.
Best time for 1536K FFT length: 135.917 ms.
Best time for 1792K FFT length: 170.022 ms.
Best time for 2048K FFT length: 190.431 ms.

so is this good bad ?

and yes i've installed via drivers

if the problem is my windows installation, the how am i supposed to do it right ?,

I did clean install -> network drivers for internet -> sp1 install -> dx9 -> catalyst -> everything else
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Everest can't run benches supershanks Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 18th June 2009 10:29
SLI licensed to run on X58 mainboards from ASUS, EVGA, MSI, Gigabyte and DFI jmke WebNews 0 22nd October 2008 13:22
Crytek claims new title "Crysis Warhead" will run HQ on Ä400 PC jmke WebNews 4 20th June 2008 07:29
Futuremark Vantage DX10 run on ATI 3870X2 and NVIDIA 9800GX2 jmke WebNews 0 28th April 2008 09:13
How To Install and Run Ubuntu Linux Inside Windows Sidney WebNews 0 31st January 2008 19:24
Will Vista Run Your Games? jmke WebNews 0 30th May 2006 17:56
Run your own benchmarks - Don't trust the manufacturer Sidney WebNews 0 18th June 2005 18:04
How To Setup And Run Dual LCD Monitors jmke WebNews 0 11th October 2004 14:32
MS Windows XP 64-bit Edition Does not Run on Intelís 64-bit Chips jmke WebNews 2 14th July 2004 15:37
possible to run older cpu's on 200fsb? anes Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 10 23rd June 2003 21:51

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:10.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO