It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
P4 hyperthreading & mem timings vragen P4 hyperthreading & mem timings vragen
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


P4 hyperthreading & mem timings vragen
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th September 2003, 17:11   #11
Stigmata
 
Posts: n/a
Default

running 228fsb with mem at 320 giving me 3.2 ghz
timings:
DRAM CAS# latency : 2
DRAM RAS# precharge : 2
DRAM RAS# to CAS# delay : 2
DRAM precharge delay : 6
DRAM burst length : 4


prime stable for 10 minutes.
Load temps are 63
After i stop prime it drops back to 44 in like 5 minutes
(looked back before submitting this post : 42)

I'm using the "mixed mode" torture test, this is allright i guess.

Plz take a look at those mem timings and tell me they are correct.
 
Old 27th September 2003, 18:54   #12
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

everything is perfect!!timings are ok, your ram is running securely there , well below its designed spec, you could try to make it run at 1:1 but it probably won't work and crash out on you...
you now have a 3.2 ghz that is faster then a 3.2 ghz standard because of the high bus, the low membus don't matter all that much anywayz
run a prime95 torture all night, if it stixx all night, then go 1 mhz up and run again, till it crashes out on you.

and now get casefans in there, and get another cpucooler

remember : a 3.2 ghz costs 700 euro's or sth
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 27th September 2003, 19:20   #13
Stigmata
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Question remains, how much below spec is my ram running?

Is CPU mhz more important than RAM speeds?
 
Old 27th September 2003, 19:51   #14
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

the ram is running at 185 mhz now...
on a i865/turbo setting pure mhz speed is more important then ram speed...

you have to see what is the highest stable speed with the 320 divider you're using, check that first...
when you find the highest stable speed, rune a 3dmark run at that setting and note the result

THEN you can clock down and search for the highest stable overclock with a 1:1 setting (400 in dram configure), when you find that one (you'll have to lower your ram settings to cas 2.5 3-6-3 to check that) if you've found the highest stable overclock with ramspeed 1:1, then you 3dmark that one run, and just compare
i personally would opt for the highest cpuoverclock but that's just me :grin:
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 28th September 2003, 13:03   #15
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,699
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stigmata

A great link with some info regarding mem timings would be great.
FAQ YOU! BIG TIME!
Quote:
After showing you how to maximize your FSB now I think it's time to explain the memory timings to you. Hopefully you will be able to use these 2 guides together to not only get the highest bus speeds but also get the most memory bandwidth and performance out of your RAM.
just check the title of this link
http://www.madshrimps.be/gotofaqlink.php?linkid=1841

and another one:
http://www.madshrimps.be/gotofaqlink.php?linkid=2364



RAM basics : http://www.madshrimps.be/gotofaqlink.php?linkid=2374
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st October 2003, 19:42   #16
Stigmata
 
Posts: n/a
Finally got my casefans, and started pushing the limits.

Prime stable for at least half an hour (could go 3mhz on fsb higher before i got errors in the first 10 minutes). max temp 58c

3402 mhz (243FSBx14)

screen :

 
Old 1st October 2003, 19:54   #17
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

nice!
now you just need to run it an entire night folding@ home with prime95 combined. (that's 100% load for a hyperthreading cpu)
if it doesn't crash, it'll be stable 4 ever

nice result, that 3400 mhz powerbeast will last you quite some time!
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 1st October 2003, 21:20   #18
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,699
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Vidcard = GF4 Ti4600 ?
nice OC!

still on stock voltage I presume?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 1st October 2003, 21:32   #19
Stigmata
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nope, Geforce4ti4200 with 64mb (abit siluro)

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7060735

all stock voltages.

Will run prime test tonite.
Is it dangerous if my cpu locks up and stays locked up for a few hours?
 
Old 1st October 2003, 21:41   #20
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,699
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Never had any problems with a locked up system. Just turn of the power and reboot, lower the CPU speed or up the vcore and retry, but at 58C I wouldn't play with that vcore

+the P4 has a build in temp sensor which will slow down the CPU when it gets overheated (+70-80%) to avoid damage to the CPU.

nice OC.. my P4 2.4C reaches 3.2Ghz at default voltage
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MemSet allows real-time tweaking of memory timings jmke WebNews 0 13th May 2008 17:29
New Mobo & Mem Opinions hjomby Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 13 3rd November 2005 19:03
Memory Bandwidth vs. Latency Timings Sidney WebNews 1 13th September 2005 15:13
Memory timings Desert Eagle Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 2 11th November 2004 08:51
TakeMS mem jakkerd Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 15 29th April 2004 16:00
AMD nForce2 memory timings explored jmke Articles & Howto's 74 29th March 2004 13:39
9JCS Hyperthreading not working Kerry General Madness - System Building Advice 7 21st March 2004 17:43
AMD memory timings, the truth ! piotke On the TestBench - Work In Progress 6 2nd January 2004 20:20
Memory Bandwidth vs. Latency Timings jmke WebNews 9 13th November 2003 13:25
INFO: Memory Timings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 18th May 2003 11:38

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:12.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO