It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
nf7 prob nf7 prob
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


nf7 prob
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th February 2004, 01:29   #1
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default nf7 prob

got a new nf7, but it's acting kinda weird
i can only install win98 (winxp crashes during setup) and 98 isn't stable at all
the most obvious prob is the sound that's constantly 'cracking'
and although my fsb is 133MHz atm, the southbridge is REALLY hot, almost burnt my finger touching it
my gues is, this isn't normal

all u nf7 owners: am i right?
 
Old 26th February 2004, 09:43   #2
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

the cracking sound is a typical 'southbridge is too hot' symptom
 
Old 27th February 2004, 09:47   #3
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I also had a sound problem with W98, but nothing helped (and it was not the SB that got too hot). I now have no problems with WXP. Maybe try the newest drivers or put a fan on the SB (if it's realy that hot)
 
Old 27th February 2004, 10:19   #4
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yeah, but i simply can't install winxp, alltough all components work on another mobo
i'm rma'ing it
 
Old 27th February 2004, 10:37   #5
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

disable all non-necessary onboard stuff
 
Old 27th February 2004, 11:06   #6
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I had the same problem with my asus board, win 98 works but during install win xp it chrashed. I also did RMA
 
Old 27th February 2004, 13:05   #7
masturbator
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Maybe ramtimings ?
Had the same problem when installing pc for brother , ram timings where to high so I always got erros, I put it a little lower when installing and when I was done installing I just put it back to the settings I wanted and it worked .
 
Old 27th February 2004, 13:55   #8
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by masturbator
Maybe ramtimings ?
Had the same problem when installing pc for brother , ram timings where to high so I always got erros, I put it a little lower when installing and when I was done installing I just put it back to the settings I wanted and it worked .
tried that too
didn't help
i even put everything at 100*10 :s
 
Old 27th February 2004, 17:14   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

did you ran Memtest86 ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 27th February 2004, 18:41   #10
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default

jup
multiple times
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABIT NF7 Series VDD Mod Guide jmke WebNews 3 20th June 2004 16:35
Te ruil: 2*256 OCZ PC3200 rev2 (BH-6) of Abit NF7 ZaVkE For Sale 0 28th March 2004 20:40
HOWTO: Abit NF7 VDIMM Voltmod jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 8th March 2004 12:10
Pc prob bambix Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 14th December 2003 12:03
NF7 (-S) bios chip StarWing In Demand 2 4th October 2003 12:15
Mosfet van Abit NF7 KrewtenŽ In Demand 4 22nd June 2003 18:04
Abit NF7 mobo DyNaRaX General Madness - System Building Advice 2 16th February 2003 11:16
Temp prob. (i think). Erik701 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 16th January 2003 17:54
P4 2266 Mhz prob Rule Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 23rd August 2002 16:54
OS install prob Corax Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 2 9th August 2002 10:39

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO