It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Network hub defective ? Network hub defective ?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Network hub defective ?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th June 2004, 15:40   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default Network hub defective ?

Situation
Router - Hub - 2 PC's

It has been like that for 1,5 years. Hub is approx 5 years old. Network connections are ok, ping is ok, ... but i have this problem ...

Problem
All the lights on hub are blinking like hell (also collision 100) without any connection being made (at my knowledge). The hub has 5 ports, 3 being used (1 uplink + 2 pc's).
If i pull the uplink to the router out the hub ... the blinking goes on.
If i pull the 2 pc's out of the hub ... the blinking stops. Only pulling 1 out doesn't help.

Checking netstat on the 2 pc's doesn't give me any open port or answer. All pc's have software firewalls, the router has a hardware firewall. Virus updating and scanning is ok. Adware installed.

What is creating traffic ?
Could the hub be defective ?
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 15:50   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Unplug; reset switch; perhaps reload firmware.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 16:00   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

are you experiencing lower transfer rates? time-outs? loss of connection? slower download speeds? any other impact besides the "flashing lights"?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 16:01   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

More info :

adsl-modem ----- router/switch ------- hub -- 2 pc's

As pulling the cable out between router/switch and hub does not stop the blinking ... i don't believe resetting the router/switch might be the answer.

The hub has no reset button, nor a web-interface, nor the possibility to upload/install firmware.
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 16:04   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

^replied^
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 16:06   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
are you experiencing lower transfer rates? time-outs? loss of connection? slower download speeds? any other impact besides the "flashing lights"?
I've experienced some loss over the last weeks but it happens very rarely.
Pinging the pc's for over 50 times (yes, fifty each ... approx) doesn't give any loss, except the 51th time : 1 packet lost on one of the pc's.
Tossing around big image-files (around 1 GB) gave 1 error ... when moved around for the 30th time.
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 16:13   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,719
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

seems to be like a hardware failure, either cable or the device itself
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 16:44   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
seems to be like a hardware failure, either cable or the device itself
I was looking for that answer also.

Problem is the blinking doesn't if i pull only one of the two plugs ... i have to pull them both.
Reseating them ... only one ... no matter in which order ... gives the blinking lights.
Chances are very small the two cables/NIC's being defective at the same time.

Grr, i hope this isn't like an evil software exploit ... still receiving loads of emails like "This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification - Delivery to the following recipients failed." from postmasters / recipients i don't know

Edit : i'm thinking of replacing the hub as i think this is the only plausible cause, and ... as it's blinking like hell ... it will go completly down one of these days eventually
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 14th June 2004, 22:10   #9
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

buy a swith, no more collisions.
 
Old 16th June 2004, 14:50   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

New switch arrived just in time.

Hub lights were blinking contiously and the hub almost stopped working.

No more blinking, no more loss ... for 35 eur
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brando releases 16-Port USB Hub jmke WebNews 0 9th July 2008 08:05
network problems between linux pc and windows network kr15t0f Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 11 30th April 2007 17:26
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
Wireless USB Hub is Near jmke WebNews 0 12th December 2005 18:56
LinkStation Network Storage Center Sidney WebNews 0 23rd August 2005 22:40
D-Link Air Premier 802.11a/b/g Wireless Network Sidney WebNews 0 25th January 2005 05:03
D-Link Gigabit and Wireless Network Review jmke WebNews 0 19th October 2004 10:57
List of fixes included in Windows XP Service Pack 2 jmke WebNews 1 17th August 2004 15:03
resolving network problems TeuS Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 19th March 2004 03:07

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:26.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO