It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Is my board dead now? / What to do ? Is my board dead now? / What to do ?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Is my board dead now? / What to do ?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th January 2006, 16:27   #1
jazzisjazz
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is my board dead now? / What to do ?

HISTORY Chaintech vnf3-250 - sempron 754 - 2275 - 285 X 8 memory @ 189.6 222-5, multi htt at 3x this is on an ide hd.

Ok so I reloaded on a sata .

It took a few tries to get it on but I was able to get the overclock back and get into windows for a few minutes.

AND THEN.........IT HAPPENED.........

Then lock up/ reboot fans spin / no beeps / remove usb drive / reseat video and memory, remove power - reset bios w/ cmos jumper, disconnect hd / still no response at all except all fans run and cd and floppy have power/ remove battery , replace battery / still no beeps Is there anything else to try before going to the local shop to have the board and cpu tested - at least thats free.

Assuming the processors good would it be wisest to switch to another board now and not worry about making the chaintech work -

if the sata thing is an nf3 bug and can be solved with an add in sata card - thats okay but I'm pretty pissed now and don't want to set this up with the add in card an find out there's some other problem lying in wait for me.

If I have to rma both maybe I should just switch to a 939 chip and the asrock 939dual ( which may become a rare animal if nvidia makes uli stop making the chipset on it ).

Whaddaya Think?
 
Old 13th January 2006, 16:30   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

I have had two bad SATA drives; drove me nuts before I found out they were bad. Anyway to check the HDD first?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 13th January 2006, 16:36   #3
jazzisjazz
 
Posts: n/a
Default

the mobo won't boot at all even with the sata hds disconnected.
 
Old 13th January 2006, 16:38   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

AFter CMOS reset?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 13th January 2006, 18:31   #5
jazzisjazz
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes.
 
Old 13th January 2006, 18:59   #6
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

try switch memory sticks, had allmost the same problem once and it was my RAM.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus' Sabertooth X58 board gets official jmke WebNews 0 6th August 2010 23:38
eVGA Dual S1366 Board To Work With 2xCore i7, No Xeon DP CPUs Required? jmke WebNews 0 27th January 2010 15:04
Bruce Claflin Appointed AMD Chairman of the Board jmke WebNews 0 5th March 2009 16:33
AMD Board of Directors Elects Dirk Meyer President and CEO jmke WebNews 0 18th July 2008 09:15
MSI Wind Board - Eco-Friendly & Energy-Saving Mainboard jmke WebNews 0 7th July 2008 18:15
Dead mainboards geoffrey In Demand 11 12th January 2008 15:05
DFI Crossfire board rocks around the clock Sidney WebNews 0 21st July 2005 12:39
AOpen Pentium M Desktop Board Relaunched jmke WebNews 0 15th April 2005 09:31
Asrock AMD 754 to 939 board review jmke WebNews 0 14th September 2004 11:55
AMD Introduces the AMD Alchemy DBAu1550 Development Board Sidney WebNews 0 26th May 2004 06:29

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:51.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO