It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
MSI KT3 - Ultra2 + AthlonXP 2000+ > probs MSI KT3 - Ultra2 + AthlonXP 2000+ > probs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


MSI KT3 - Ultra2 + AthlonXP 2000+ > probs
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th September 2002, 00:11   #1
ecko.
 
Posts: n/a
Default MSI KT3 - Ultra2 + AthlonXP 2000+ > probs

Systeem:
- MSI KT3 - Ultra2 (geen RAID)
- AthlonXP 2000+
- 512DDR ram (2700 / 333)
- GF4 Ti4200
- D-Link DME530
- Volcano7+

probleem:
na de assemblage etc. start ik het systeem op. Probleemloze installatie van win2k, alle drivers, 3DMark2001, DirectX8.1, via 4-in-1, .... enfin, hij boot perfect, geen enkel probleem.
Ik run 3Dmark > 8500+ score ergens, vond ik veel te weinig, maar ja, khad geen tweaks gedaan ofzo.
ik was benieuwd naar mijn casetemps, dus ik install MBM. Nice, 40 idle! dat zag er goed uit.
opeens zie ik dat mijn CPU slechts aan 1250MHz draait ipv 1660MHz... hmmz, mijn FSB staat nog op 100 dus...
ff handleiding van mobo lezen en idd, default staat die op 100 bij MSI, je moet die handmatig verzetten.
Ok, reboot, FSB op 133 en tadaaa! jawel, tot net na het "press F8 for..." en dan blauw scherm, fatal error; pagefault (welke exact weet ik nt meer, maar kom..)
damn, maar toch nog eens proberen.... nope, weer van 't zelfde.
teruggeschroefd naar 100 FSB en het werkte weer... hmmz raar???
na wat rondvragen handmatig instellingen gewijzigd, maar steeds hetzelfde. Ofwel boot hij perfect (op 133) en raakt hij zelfs tot het "windows2000 startup screen" maar dan hangt hij daar (echt, kwartier, dus hangen en geen beweging meer te zien) ofwel is het weer fatal error (verschilt soms)
terug op 100FSB boot hij, geraak ik tot in windows en freezed het gewoon.
in safe mode lukt op 100FSB, maar 133 wil ie niet, weer pagefault of dll error of gelijkaardigs.....

een oplossing zie ik niet meteen, maar WAT zou er kapot zijn?
RAM, CPU, Mobo?
of is het iets anders?
temps zijn niet te hoog, na hem ff op 133 te laten "draaien" is hij 45; dus zeker niet te warm. in't begin op 100 kwam het niet boven de 41.

enige suggesties?
 
Old 13th September 2002, 00:30   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

- check timings of RAM
- check cpu voltage (def. 1.775v I think, try 1.8v)

reinstall Windows with system running @ 133
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th September 2002, 00:35   #3
ecko.
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
- check timings of RAM
- check cpu voltage (def. 1.775v I think, try 1.8v)

reinstall Windows with system running @ 133
that last one also crossed my mind, so i tried it, but nope... freezes when actual install begins (after copying the files)

timings of ram (is that the 2.5?) i've tried too, no luck
cpu voltage, had auto and tried 1.8 of 1.85 (don't know for sure anymore) didn't do the trick.
 
Old 13th September 2002, 00:46   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

new or old HD ?

- remove d-link

put timings of ram on "CL2-6-3 2T"
make sure ram is running @ 133
(not 166)

flashed mobo to last Bios release?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th September 2002, 00:49   #5
ecko.
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
new or old HD ?

- remove d-link

put timings of ram on "CL2-6-3 2T"
make sure ram is running @ 133
(not 166)

flashed mobo to last Bios release?
brand new seagate 80gig

will try the d-link remove trick
it's 333 DDR ram, so they should run at 166? not?
or just for testing purposes?
 
Old 13th September 2002, 00:53   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

testing purposes
if you can run it @133 without probs, but with probs @166 there is something wrong there
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th September 2002, 01:20   #7
ecko.
 
Posts: n/a
Default

'kay, at 100 he it worked, RAM @ 333 i think
at 133 he boots! but he freezes in the win2k startup screen and then he gives an error stating "IRQL is less or equal" or something like that.
now i'll try installing as Std PC.. (ACPI disabled)
i hope this time it'll work :/

[edit]
nope, no hopes
he gives the "KMODE Exception Not Handled" error during install ...
 
Old 13th September 2002, 01:48   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I don't think it is a software related problem

one (or more) HW components is freaking out @ 133mhz
you need to find out which one, unfortunately the only fool proof way to do this, is to replace every HW component with another & retest, hope you got spare material

if all else fails -> back to the shop
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 13th September 2002, 18:40   #9
ecko.
 
Posts: n/a
Default

okay, problem solved.
mobo didn't want all that power.
fresh mobo, now all is solved.

but erm... MBM says my CPU runs @ a happy 35!
aircooling, casetemp = 31, Volcano7+, 5000rpm (medium speed)

possible??
 
Old 13th September 2002, 18:55   #10
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

yep, it's possible.
if it's idle

nice temps.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI launches Wind U90 Ultra Lightweight Portable jmke WebNews 0 3rd September 2008 23:01
MSI Overclocking Contest : Info & Howto Join jmke General OC-Team Forum 1 14th June 2008 20:44
MSI Notebooks win prestigious Awards in Taiwan jmke WebNews 0 22nd May 2008 12:54
New MSI X48 Series Motherboard Sidney WebNews 0 21st January 2008 16:07
MSI NX8800GT-T2D512E-OC Video Card Unleashed jmke WebNews 0 29th October 2007 16:31
MSI launches X38 Diamond Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 10th October 2007 10:19
MSI P35 Motherboard Series Launched jmke WebNews 0 4th June 2007 14:04
MSI NX8800GTX-T2D768E and MSI NX8800GTS-T2D640E jmke WebNews 0 8th November 2006 10:52
MSI unveils its MSI DR16-B: 16x16 DVD Dual Drive with Dual Layer Technology jmke WebNews 0 2nd September 2004 17:14
MSI KT3 Ultra OC'ing jmke Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 6th December 2002 15:16

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:03.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO