It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
mbot features request mbot features request
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


mbot features request
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th May 2004, 10:39   #1
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default mbot features request

There are tons of neat features I can add to the mbot, but my time is limited.

Which feature do you deem most urgent atm?

- a webform to launch / control your own mbot
- the ability of entering multiple [mbot] entries per post (usefull for importing results from existing competition thread)
- Next to a general ranking and subcategory ranking, a global ranking.

The global ranking seems to be a nice feature in my humble opinion. I'd suggest the following: the bot calculates the average of the 10 highest entries, making it the global score for "team madshrimps". The global ranking part would show your current team ranking position, difference between the team higher than you and the first three teams. That would make the mbot a fun way to compete between forums. : )

Other requests = please tell me!
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 4th May 2004, 11:19   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

team subranking sounds awesome!,

like using a tag in the username field between [] delimeters

[Madshrimps]jmke
[Shrimps]karel
[OCforum]patje
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 4th May 2004, 11:35   #3
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Hmmm... changing the [mbot] format is the last thing i'd do.

When you create an mbot to monitor a given thread, you have to supply it a team name. Everyone who posts in that thread is automaticly part of the team.

That would mean in some situations some users would enter 2 teams (like many of us post at shrimp to), but i don't want to complicate the [mbot][/mbot] format, as it even seems to much to ask not to use the forbidden "-" delimiter in your system specs.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 4th May 2004, 12:07   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

it was an example, you use <> also

<madshrimps>username instead of []

ah yes, you could make the "teams" functionality optional, thereby online the more "advanced" forums can profit from it
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 4th May 2004, 12:31   #5
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

advanced forums *wink*?

what about this:
You automaticly join the team in which forum you reply too, *unless* you use [mbot][team]username-score-system[/mbot] tag? That way we're both happy.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 4th May 2004, 12:32   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

advanced forums: forums with advanced members
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASRock P55 Deluxe3 True 333 Motherboard Features eSATA 6Gbps next to USB 3.0 jmke WebNews 0 8th February 2010 14:51
Intel X57 chipsets to get new features jmke WebNews 0 8th April 2009 21:21
Windows 7 lets you enable/disable features easily jmke WebNews 1 8th March 2009 09:40
Get Vista's Best Features in XP jmke WebNews 0 15th May 2008 13:05
New Sparkle Calibre 8600 GT features turbo button jmke WebNews 0 12th October 2007 12:46
Intel's New Products Improve Features for Value-Priced PCs Sidney WebNews 0 23rd September 2004 02:45
mbot question. Sarcastro Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 10 9th September 2004 14:43
Microsoft decides to cut features in upcoming Longhorn jmke WebNews 0 13th April 2004 08:06
Top Mainboard features “Intel’s PAT Technology” + “FSB1200” ! jmke WebNews 0 13th January 2004 13:22

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:44.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO