It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
LCD Screen "blackouts" LCD Screen "blackouts"
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


LCD Screen "blackouts"
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th April 2008, 22:54   #1
moejoe
 
Posts: n/a
Icon2 LCD Screen "blackouts"

Hello,

I have this issue with my computer where my LCD screen blacks out for like 3 seconds and then returns to normal. This happens most frequently when I play video games.. common, but not as frequently, when i watch videos. And least common when the comp is just doing nothing.. This effect happens without any warning signs.

Before I mention what steps I have taken to figure out what the cause is, ill post my computer specs:

Nvidia GeForce FX 5700LE 128 MB AGP (system info in Nvidia control panel says - "bus: PCI" .. i dont get it)
DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
ForceWare version: 169.21
LCD Screen: Acer AL2216W (using DVI connection)
AMD Athlon XP 1500+ (1300 MHz)
512 MB RAM
Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)

Ok, so about a month ago this problem was only a very rare occurrence.. the only way it would happen is if I played this game called, Mabinogi, and i set a graphics option called "Film Post Processing Effect". About a week ago it got to the point that it is now, very annoying. Mabinogi is impossible to play, another game called "Avernum 5" works fine (no blackouts), but it does not use a very elaborate graphics system in the first place.

I tried to system restore to a month ago when it was fine, but that did not change much.

To rule out the possibility of my LCD screen being the problem, i plugged it in to another computer (also DVI), and it was fine there.

In the Nvidia Control Panel the "Nvidia display optimization wizard" when i click on "Show Test Pattern" it black out like crazy as if i was playing a game. Everything else in the wizard works fine.

In dxdiag, all the 3d tests worked fine.

The last thing I tried was to clean out my hardware, remove all that dust.. there was plenty indeed.. the problem was not fixed tho. =(

Anyone, any ideas?

Thank you.
 
Old 13th April 2008, 00:12   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

what specs does the other screen have that does not have the issues?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 15th April 2008, 02:41   #3
moejoe
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You mean the computer specs? (the same LCD screen was used on both comps)

They are:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
1 GB RAM
Windows XP Pro SP 2
Nvidia Geforce 6600GT 128 MB
Force Ware version 169.21
DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
 
Old 15th April 2008, 09:04   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

is the 6600GT PCIe or AGP?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th April 2008, 15:31   #5
moejoe
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It is AGP.. so both our comps use AGP.. and used the same connector.
 
Old 17th April 2008, 15:45   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,758
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

excellent, swap the GFX and see if the error on the screen follows the VGA card; if yes: bad VGA, if not, software probs on the first PC
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th April 2008, 16:21   #7
moejoe
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well.. i am sure u mean graphics card.. but before considering that i decided to switch my DVI in-out cable for an VGA in-out cable, so i had to use the VGA male to DVI female connector.. like most non-LCD screens use.. and that seemed to have stopped the black outs! .. so, i guess it's not software.. but something hardware related, something about the DVI signal my video card did not like.. but its strange, cuz it did not mind it until about a month ago. Today was also really bad, i couldn't read a wikipedia article without it blacking out 10 times...

well if black outs happens again ill let u know.

thank you
 
Old 18th April 2008, 19:04   #8
Sharpside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have had the same problem with my gf6200, just reseating it did the trick.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How-To Wire a LCD Character Screen jmke WebNews 0 19th June 2007 10:46
LCD flat screen sales increase jmke WebNews 1 11th May 2007 11:57
ASUS set to launch 2000:1 contrast LCD screen jmke WebNews 0 19th February 2007 20:55
Acer to deliver 24-inch wide screen LCD Sidney WebNews 0 23rd September 2005 08:08
Samsung 173MW Multi-function Wide Screen LCD Sidney WebNews 0 24th January 2005 04:41
Lilliput 7" Wide Screen VGA TFT LCD with Touch Screen Sidney WebNews 0 15th July 2004 09:17
LCD screen + keypad + LCDC soft + some leds and knobs gives ? Pirre Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 6 31st July 2002 21:02

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:41.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO