It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Internet connection Internet connection
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Internet connection
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th September 2008, 21:54   #11
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

time to switch providers, Telenet new packs are very interesting
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 12th September 2008, 22:28   #12
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

If you can't get it solved, PM me the problem. I'll see what I can do, as I work for Belgacom
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:23   #13
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Then you must know for sure...
Tell me piot, is it possible to combine Scarlet ADSL and Belgacom TV? In theory, practice? What exactly is belgacom TV? ADSL yes, but does it use other pairs and how do they make the connection?
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:43   #14
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Theory/technically I guess yes, practically not.

It goes over ADSL, 6 Mb line is needed (4 Mb needed for mobile TV, per decoder).
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 10:27   #15
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffrey View Post
Don't get me started, I'm already 2 weeks without i-net... belgacom...
As a wise American once said ... it's time to change
 
Old 14th September 2008, 11:24   #16
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

My parents got themselves an HDTV and wanted digital TV, I proposed Telenet as it was going to be the easiest. "No"... Belgacom TV is easy too and via a wireless transmitter/receiver you no longer need any cables running through your house. And, they have football! K, have it your way...

Mom went to a Belgacom shop in St-Niklaas, seller told here that when you take BelTV you do not have to change from i-net provider, we had Scarlet ADSL at that moment. And so, later that week I suddenly lost internet connection. Phoned Scarlet, after 15min they found my problem, BelTV + Scarlet ADSL is not possible. So we went to another belgacom shop nearby and explained the problem, after phoning around they let me know that it could be possible that Scarlet ADSL + BelTV is not going to work, they made us a nice offer (Belgacom ADSL + TV) and so we changed from i-net provider. One week later, Belgacom TV goes online, still no internet. More phones, last one told us that you first have to write to Scarlet to give up your subscription. So we did, now we are still waiting for Belgacom to activate ADSL... I haven't received any login details either.

What a mess, that guy in St-Niklaas certainly ****ed it up, that shop ****ed it up as they all agreed with him. It bothers me that so many people don't even know what is possible and what not, is it not their job to know?
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 12:01   #17
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

We here at Proximus often need to call Belgacom, as they also sell mobile internet (3G). They just use the Proximus Network. We give advaced tech support, check if antennas and stuff are working decently.

But, sometimes a customer ends up with us, so that we call BGC for them. I had once, a week ago (and they have about a year the product) a person on line who was angry at me, claiming Mobile internet is for Proximus. I admitted that, buut they also sell that. That's not true etc. She said call this xxx number. I said, look at your screen, I'm calling from that number...

Eventuelly she hung up. Went to my manager and together we crossed the street to the BElgacom towers and had a nice talk with the lady in question

If it doesn't seem to get solved, could you PM me the info, i'll then go visit Belgacom
__________________
.

Last edited by piotke : 14th September 2008 at 12:13.
piotke is offline  
Old 23rd December 2009, 09:10   #18
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I did not know this, how do you do this?
but how is this related to the topic?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 23rd December 2009, 10:24   #19
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Host computer as switch/router, this is a windows feature right?
__________________

geoffrey is offline  
Old 23rd December 2009, 10:25   #20
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,771
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

wow wow slow down there Geoffrey... what is a switch?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Use Could Make You Smarter jmke WebNews 1 23rd February 2010 01:12
NOXON iRadio Cube A Small, Smart, and New Internet Radio jmke WebNews 0 11th November 2008 18:24
75 year old grand mother gets world's fastest broadband connection: 40 Gbps jmke WebNews 0 12th July 2007 23:50
Internet connection speed upgrade: 20Mbit cable jmke Off-Topic Hangout 23 30th January 2006 23:33
Facing The Evil Twin: fake Internet gateways posing as legitimate Wi-Fi hotspots jmke WebNews 0 9th November 2005 21:33
Internet connection problems wutske General Madness - System Building Advice 1 29th October 2005 11:17
Internet Explorer 7 to Come in Mid-2005 jmke WebNews 0 18th February 2005 17:41
Intel Outlines Strategy for Making the Internet Smarter, Safer, More Reliable Sidney WebNews 0 9th September 2004 18:38
List of fixes included in Windows XP Service Pack 2 jmke WebNews 1 17th August 2004 16:03
AMD's Emma: $200 Internet PC jmke WebNews 0 27th April 2004 16:05

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:45.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO