It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
IDE question IDE question
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


IDE question
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th February 2004, 18:59   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 271
DyNaRaX Freshly Registered
Default IDE question

is it smart to put an ata133 disk and an ata66 on the same ide cable (ide1) or will it result into a speed loss for the ata133 drive?

The current situation is:
Ide 1: Maxtor 120gb 8mb cache
Ide 2: Backup disk (ata66) 10gb and combo dvd/cdrw

If would like change it to:

Ide1: Maxtor 120 + backup disk
Ide2: dvd/cdrw + cdrom drive

Please advise
__________________
Asus P5K | Intel C2D E6750 | 2 GB DDR2 | PNY 8800GT| Samsung 500 GB| Lacie 500Gb ext | LG 4163B DVDrw | Samsung 206BW | CM Stacker | CM Real Power 550 | CM Crossflow | 3 x 120 mm Blue Led | 1 80 mm
DyNaRaX is offline  
Old 14th February 2004, 19:36   #2
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

just a small Q: why bother with a CD rom drive?

Anyway, it shouldn't interfere with it's speeds, but if the ata 66 drive is working the ata 133 will have to wait till it's done, and that will take a bit longer then if it would be alone on the cable.
 
Old 14th February 2004, 21:53   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 271
DyNaRaX Freshly Registered
Default

the cdrom drive is usefull for copying cd's. I prefer using it instead of having it lying on my desk.

The ata66 disk is not used very much, it is just used as backup, instead of burning my documents and mails onto cd every week I copy them to the old hd.

So the Maxtor will only be slowed down when the ata66 is in use, but when working in windows or while loading games (installed on the Maxtor) it will still have the same speed as now (alone on the ide channel).
__________________
Asus P5K | Intel C2D E6750 | 2 GB DDR2 | PNY 8800GT| Samsung 500 GB| Lacie 500Gb ext | LG 4163B DVDrw | Samsung 206BW | CM Stacker | CM Real Power 550 | CM Crossflow | 3 x 120 mm Blue Led | 1 80 mm
DyNaRaX is offline  
Old 14th February 2004, 22:04   #4
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it should.
And still, copying CD's is always safer with a temp file on HD.
You're free to do as you please, but I'd leave it out.
Less cable mess, and more air in the case. It can only help.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scythe Announces Kama Connect 2 Universal SATA and IDE Multi Adapter jmke WebNews 0 14th April 2010 20:28
Icy Dock Intros EZ-FIT MB990SP-B Dual 2.5" to 3.5" SATA / IDE SSD & HDD Bracket jmke WebNews 3 28th January 2010 16:29
Sharkoon HDD docking station comes with IDE connectivity jmke WebNews 0 25th September 2009 14:12
LG DVD Burner GSA-H62N SATA vs GSA-H50N IDE Review jmke WebNews 0 4th October 2007 16:44
Super Talent's 2.5" IDE Flash hard drive jmke WebNews 0 12th July 2006 09:26
IDE to SATA DyNaRaX Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 14th February 2006 12:18
Mutant Mods UV EL IDE Cable jmke WebNews 0 14th May 2005 17:41
ide to sata DyNaRaX Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 27th December 2004 15:49
home-made round IDE cable howto jmke WebNews 3 25th September 2004 17:22
Maybe this is a very stupid question , newbie's question Kiven Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 3 2nd February 2004 08:53

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:37.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO