It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
HDD troubles HDD troubles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


HDD troubles
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th April 2004, 22:06   #11
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

and that's why I keep DVD's and CD's with back-ups of my most precious documents and files (madshrimps website for example )
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th April 2004, 22:20   #12
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was about to copy the data to the PC I set up, only used right now for backups

no clue what I might do?
 
Old 14th April 2004, 22:23   #13
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you could try ghosting the faulty disk to another one, and then try the recover from that disk, but that succesrate is low.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th April 2004, 22:31   #14
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

fyi: I've woken up at 9 o' clock this morning to continue my attempts to recover data. it's half past 23h and I'm still busy with this crap
 
Old 14th April 2004, 22:32   #15
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

you could have reinstall your OS and retyped all that lost data 3x now.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th April 2004, 22:35   #16
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

trying file scavenger now. doesn't do much. why do all these stupid recovery programs hang
 
Old 14th April 2004, 22:43   #17
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

because your HD is corrupt.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th April 2004, 22:54   #18
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wtf, getdataback always hangs when it tries to read a specific sector!

trying to scan a few GB at a time...
 
Old 14th April 2004, 23:02   #19
TeuS
 
Posts: n/a
Default

scanning a few GB at a time... scribing down bad sectors

found a part of the MFT or something like that. found a part of my pictures
 
Old 14th April 2004, 23:08   #20
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

yes that Q1 mod is cool.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brando Launches USB 3.0 Dual SATA HDD Dock jmke WebNews 0 28th May 2010 15:01
VIZO Launches new External HDD Housing: LUXON Advanced - SD / ED jmke WebNews 0 16th October 2007 08:34
Scythe Intros Fanless HDD Case for 2.5" HDD jmke WebNews 0 15th June 2007 14:34
Jetart HDD Guard 3.5” HDD Protector jmke WebNews 0 30th October 2006 08:16
DIY HDD silencing idea wutske Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 22nd January 2006 13:41
Seagate – World’s Largest HDD Maker jmke WebNews 0 18th August 2005 20:27
passive cooled HDD housing TeuS Air - Water - Peltier - Phase Change - LN2 Cooling Projects 19 13th March 2004 16:01
HDD Problem? Plz check! Da`Hitch Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 5 28th August 2002 00:04

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO