It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Graphics Card Graphics Card
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Graphics Card
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th February 2005, 05:21   #1
Victorious25
 
Posts: n/a
Default Graphics Card

Ok. I recently purchased the nVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra, quite an upgrade from my FX 5600. Well my friend recently got a older system from a guy. It was only using onboard graphics, so I decided to toss my 5600 in it. At first it seemed like everythign was going well, because right away it recognized that it was there, and the monitor displayed when plugged into the card. (In the past I have had problems with systems not registering that there is a new device, when they had onboard graphics.) Well that was short lived. I installed the drivers, and other software. When ever someone tried to do something now, the screen turns black. If you try to change the resolution, change black. Log onto AIM, change black. Well, next I tried booting with VGA mode enabled. Like this it allows me to do anything I want, but only if I leave the resolution set to 640x480. If I try to change the resolution it goes back to black. Sometime when I log on when windows starts it gives me an error repot, and if I look in the document it says somethign along the lines of there being a problem with the drivers, or the hardware. I don't think that it is the hardware, because it is acctually displaying somethign when plugged itno it, and it worked just fine in my system. So I guessed that it was software. I have tried different versions of the software, uninstalling reinstalling, but nothing works. Anotehr thing I have noticed is that everythign also works wwhen running in safe mode. I can't figure out if this ia a confliction of some sort with the onboad graphics, or strictly a graphics card related problem. The system has an Asus A7N266 VA/AA with an AMD Athalon processor (Not sure what speed of the top of my head, but runs at 2 Ghz.) Has 512 RAM. OS is XP Pro, No service pack, but I have both ready to be installed at anytime. The GPU is as I said a Geforce FX 5600 256Mb card from XFX. Detailed specs on the MoBo are here: http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/sock...m/overview.htm
Detailed specs on the GPU are here: http://www.xfxforce.com/product_view.php?sku=PVT31KUA
I will post the error report in entirety soon, but right now I am not on that system. Any help would be appreciated.
 
Old 18th February 2005, 05:51   #2
Victorious25
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK. Desided just for the hell of it to trade that GPU with a slightly oler one in my other computer. This is an nVidia from PNY. This one works in the system. My only thoguht is that it would be a conflict with the chipsets of the motherboard and the GPU, but that would be weird, since both are from nVidia. Any thoughts?
 
Old 18th February 2005, 06:28   #3
Victorious25
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Somethign new again. We tried running the game that we play at our LAN parties. (Warcraft III) It randomly freezes, requiring a hard restart. I can't figure out what it is.
 
Old 18th February 2005, 14:16   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

PSU, MOBO, RAM, CPU

try www.memtest.org for RAM test, if it passes, try switching out the PSU with more powerful model. if that fails you might consider mobo/cpu as the problem
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE Announces “OC Guru is You” Graphics Card Online Competition jmke WebNews 0 31st March 2010 15:57
GIGABYTE Unveils the Round Two of Graphics Card Overclocking Competition jmke WebNews 0 2nd November 2009 11:10
AMD Delivers Its Most Powerful Professional 3D Graphics Card jmke WebNews 0 28th July 2009 09:13
S3 Graphics' Chrome 440 GTX Video Card Announced jmke WebNews 0 30th May 2008 14:57
AMD 3D Workstation Graphics Card with DisplayPort Support jmke WebNews 0 31st March 2008 14:34
MSI Shows Off Upgradeable Graphics Card jmke WebNews 6 7th January 2006 21:30
Matrox Unveils World’s First PCI Express x1 Graphics Card: G550 jmke WebNews 0 19th July 2005 14:25
ASUS Launches EN7800GTX Graphics Card Equipped with GeForce® 7800 GTX jmke WebNews 1 23rd June 2005 16:37
First GECUBE RADEON X800XL 512MB Heat Pipe Graphics Card Sidney WebNews 0 16th May 2005 17:18
GECUBE RADEON X800XL PCIe 512MB Graphics Card Sidney WebNews 0 6th May 2005 18:27

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:01.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO