It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
flickering screen @ FSB210+ (8rda+) flickering screen @ FSB210+ (8rda+)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


flickering screen @ FSB210+ (8rda+)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st May 2003, 14:05   #1
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default flickering screen @ FSB210+ (8rda+)

when i set my FSB @210, my screen often flickers (most of the time when i scroll with my mouse). even after a vdd-mod (with 680ohm resistor).
before i did the mod wasn't to able to boot in windows without flickering, the max was then FSB @193. now this problem is solved after the mod till 205mhz.
how can i solve this problem? i've seen many people hit 220-225mhz with ease after the same mod.
settings in my bios?

btw cpu,vga, NB are wc'ed. 2*256mb corsair xms3500. xp1800 jiuhb. some cupper chip-hs from coolermaster on the Mosfets an the chip above the mosfets

any suggetstion are welcome
 
Old 1st May 2003, 14:34   #2
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

Your northbridge chipset needs more voltage. Try 1.9vdd.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 2nd May 2003, 08:46   #3
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

pfff now even on @205 flickering

edit: on every fsb even on freaking 10*150
i assume vga broke
 
Old 2nd May 2003, 10:35   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,716
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

AGP port broken?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd May 2003, 13:14   #5
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

how can i know?
is there a way to check either the AGP is still intact?
 
Old 2nd May 2003, 13:27   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,716
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

other AGP videocard => same prob : AGP port
then
try PCI videocard = prob gone? confirmation that AGP port = fux0red
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd May 2003, 13:41   #7
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

You're using a 4x AGP card (GF2Ti)? Try a 8x agp card, it uses a different voltage. Perhaps the voltage regulator for 4x agp (1.5v) is dying, but 8x (0.8v) still works fine.
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 2nd May 2003, 23:02   #8
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

still nothing , now even a black screen after windows xp is loaded, with a message of my screen "RGB no input signal !"

i'm gonna try a pci-card later
how much does a 8x vga card cost? again a hole in my budget :s.

edit: i've used an ol' S3virge pci-card, and it works fine.
 
Old 3rd May 2003, 10:15   #9
[M] Reviewer/HWBot *****
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,344
RichBa5tard Freshly Registered
Default

cheapest 8x agp card by my knowledge: GF4 MX440 (8x agp version!)

I ordered two GF4 MX440 cards this week, i'd lend you one but i honestly don't know if they're 4x or 8x...
__________________
HTPC (mac osx): Mac Mini | Core Duo 1.6Ghz | 2GB DDR2 | 26\" TFT
Development (mac osx): Macbook | Core 2 2.0Ghz | 4GB DDR2 | 250GB HD
Games (win xp): E2160 @ 2.4Ghz | HD3850 OC | Asrock 4coredual-vsta | 2GB DDR2
RichBa5tard is offline  
Old 4th May 2003, 15:07   #10
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

here some pics of the f**ked up screens.
i hope it's just the agp4x voltregulator

later on this day i think i'm gonna go to the dipro-exchange. for a cheap GF4mx that supports 8x. so thumbs up
@ RB: thank for the offer, if it haven't found one and those you ordered are 8x's. put one on side for me will you
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Grey Screen of Death fix coming soon jmke WebNews 0 2nd February 2010 10:18
Black Screen on Windows Installation Nessmaster Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 15 28th February 2007 14:06
Samsung 173MW Multi-function Wide Screen LCD Sidney WebNews 0 24th January 2005 03:41
planning to buy this screen kr15t0f Mad Bargains 12 15th August 2004 18:42
Lilliput 7" Wide Screen VGA TFT LCD with Touch Screen Sidney WebNews 0 15th July 2004 08:17
ECS G900 executive notebook PC delivers power, big screen display jmke WebNews 1 15th March 2004 05:42

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:02.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO