It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Disable Internet access Disable Internet access
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Disable Internet access
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th January 2003, 09:21   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default Disable Internet access

W2K - different users & groups on network

Is it possible to prevent one user from using the internet ?

Everyone should be able to use the intranet though. I know howto exempt one computer from using the internet, but not ONE user. I didn't fill in how the i-net connection is made in the i-net settings ... but this user is smart enough to fill it in (and it is very easy).
Bosw8er is offline  
Old 15th January 2003, 18:47   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

using policies disable iexplore.exe for specific user
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 15th January 2003, 18:49   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

Bosw8er is offline  
Old 15th January 2003, 19:09   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default


if you ever consider installing a W2k server

<-
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 16th January 2003, 08:28   #5
lazybones
 
Posts: n/a
Default

but then he has no IE to go on the intranet site ?
 
Old 16th January 2003, 17:32   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Bosw8er doesn't have an intranet site afaik


another solution is to install a proxy in the network ( I recommend "Jana Proxy Server" it's freeware and allows you to give internet access on a user base, also always port mapping for special applications, content filter, own mail server, etc etc, very good & easy to configure)
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th January 2003, 09:28   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Bosw8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,711
Bosw8er Freshly Registered
Default

intranet = 1 main index/switchboard html-page
intranet = all kind off data access pages

... all disabled

I will look into the proxy thing ... some day.
__________________
"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."
Bosw8er is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Use Could Make You Smarter jmke WebNews 1 23rd February 2010 01:12
Uninstall, Disable, or Delete Internet Explorer 8 from Windows 7 jmke WebNews 0 27th July 2009 16:16
Google takes Gmail offline... read and search GMAIL without internet access jmke WebNews 0 28th January 2009 18:06
NOXON iRadio Cube A Small, Smart, and New Internet Radio jmke WebNews 0 11th November 2008 18:24
New Windows Attack Can Disable Firewall jmke WebNews 0 31st October 2006 09:25
Internet Explorer 7 to Come in Mid-2005 jmke WebNews 0 18th February 2005 17:41
AMD rolls out low-cost Net access device in India Sidney WebNews 0 1st November 2004 14:01
Intel Outlines Strategy for Making the Internet Smarter, Safer, More Reliable Sidney WebNews 0 9th September 2004 18:38
List of fixes included in Windows XP Service Pack 2 jmke WebNews 1 17th August 2004 16:03
AMD's Emma: $200 Internet PC jmke WebNews 0 27th April 2004 16:05

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:47.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO