It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems? Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st November 2004, 16:48   #1
Lucky_Luciano
 
Posts: n/a
Default Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL stability problems?

One month ago I bought myself a new motherboard (MSI K8N Neo2 platinum), a new processor (AMD64 XP3500+) and some new memory (Corsair TwinX 1024mb 3200XL). This machine is as fast as a rocket, but once in a while I started to note some instability problems: some games crashed at random without any warning, applications sometimes didn't work right ... where my previous system was rockstable.
Today, I ran a memory test (Memtest for Windows) and I get loads of memory errors there. I googled away and indeed, my memory sometimes seems to conflict with my motherboard , although there were people who had not a single problem using this combination.

At first I thought there were driver problems so I updated my BIOS to v1.3 (latest version) and installed the latest nForce drivers. No luck. I tried to run the memory on less tighter timings (2-3-2-5/1T at 2.7v). Still no luck. Increased the voltages a bit. Nothing.

Any other thoughts perhaps? Are there people here with the same problem? Should I start worrying that I have faulty ram? (Corsair has a life-long warrenty, but still) Should I consider a new motherboard? (bah, I never had problems with MSI before )

Thanks a lot in advance!
 
Old 21st November 2004, 17:18   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,740
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

run memtest86+ ( www.memtest.org ) for several hours at CL2 2-2-5/1T at 2.7v , it the memory fails then contact Corsair for RMA!
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 21st November 2004, 17:19   #3
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sometimes is helps if you put your ram in another slot.
 
Old 21st November 2004, 18:20   #4
Lucky_Luciano
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
run memtest86+ ( www.memtest.org ) for several hours at CL2 2-2-5/1T at 2.7v , it the memory fails then contact Corsair for RMA!
Thanks, will do! Though, as MemTest in Windows already gives many errors I don't have good hopes on this

Quote:
Originally posted by HardFreak
Sometimes is helps if you put your ram in another slot.
I had to put the ram in slots 3&4 of my mobo. 1&2 aren't possible because of my ThermalRight XP120. (I know: MSI preferes slots 1&2 but I don't think it makes that much difference, or does it?).
 
Old 22nd November 2004, 12:45   #5
Lucky_Luciano
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, minor update: I ran a complete test with Memtest86+ (took me more then 4hours) and, believe it or not, there was not a single error in the 12 tests! Really, I'm confused here: why does Memtest in Windows give loads of errors and Memtest86+ doesn't even budge?

Could this be a faulty installation of my OS (Win XP pro)? Perhaps it's my mobo that is the troublemaker?
 
Old 22nd November 2004, 15:01   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,740
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

seems more like a software prob; if possible, swap HD's and do a clean install of the OS and see if you still have problems
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd November 2004, 17:13   #7
Lucky_Luciano
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hmm, I just did a fresh installation of Win 2000 on a different partition but MemTest keeps giving errors, even under Win 2000.

So, you think swapping my current master HD with my current slave HD might help? Or do you mean I should use a completely different HD?
 
Old 22nd November 2004, 17:14   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Test your hard disk with the tol from the manufacturer. What brand is your harddisk ?
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 22nd November 2004, 17:34   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,740
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

uhm. what windows memtest are you using?

just try to loop 3DMark2001SE/Prime95/SuperPi for stability
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 22nd November 2004, 17:50   #10
Lucky_Luciano
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by piotke
Test your hard disk with the tol from the manufacturer. What brand is your harddisk ?
The harddisks are two Seagates (one 40GB, the other 80GB).

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
uhm. what windows memtest are you using?
I'm using this one: http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

Quote:
Originally posted by piotke

just try to loop 3DMark2001SE/Prime95/SuperPi for stability
Ah, I should have thought of that! Thanks Jmke .
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair XMS 3200XL Pro Memory Kit Giveaway Sidney WebNews 0 22nd June 2005 06:01
Corsair 1GB XPERT Series 3200XL Memory Sidney WebNews 0 1st June 2005 03:32
Corsair XMS4400 1GB TwinX Memory jmke WebNews 0 23rd February 2005 17:51
Corsair XMS TwinX 1024MB PC4400 2.5-4-4-8 DDR Sidney WebNews 0 30th November 2004 06:30
Corsair TwinX 1024 PC3200XL Low Latency Memory Sidney WebNews 0 21st October 2004 03:40
2x256mb corsair twinx 3200LL 1.1 bh-5 Spider For Sale 6 17th August 2004 22:38
The Return of 2-2-2: Corsair 3200XL & Samsung PC4000 jmke WebNews 0 16th June 2004 13:00
Corsair TwinX1024 3200XL Pro @ IpKonfig jmke WebNews 0 3rd June 2004 12:43
Corsair XMS 3200XL Memory @ Legit Reviews jmke WebNews 1 29th May 2004 04:05
Corsair TwinX PC4400 Dual Channel Memory Review jmke Articles & Howto's 8 17th March 2004 15:25

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO