It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Casefan horror Casefan horror
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Casefan horror
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th May 2007, 10:54   #1
Bourgi
 
Posts: n/a
Icon2 Casefan horror

Hello,

I'm building my new system. (see below)

When I connect the 3-pin connector of my 3 chassisfans to the motherboard (to CHA1_FAN) and power up the computer, my 3 casefans (120mm 1200rpm) make a terrible noise, especially the one at the front! (~60db+ ) Are they swirling too fast with too much voltage? They come with the gigabyte case, and are supposed to be silent.

When i disconnect this cable and boot up, the pc is very silent, as it should be.

What can i do about this?

I've tried CHA1_FAN, CHA2_FAN and PWR_FAN on my motherboard with similar results.

-----------------------------
CPU E6600, Scythe Ninja rev B CPU cooler, Twinmoss 2x 1gb DDR2 PC6400, Hiper 480Watt PSU, Asus P5B motherboard, Nvidea 8800GTS 320mb GPU, Gigabyte Aurora 570 case

Last edited by Bourgi : 8th May 2007 at 11:00.
 
Old 8th May 2007, 11:33   #2
Member
 
easypanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,823
easypanic Freshly Registered
Default

Look in your BIOS if you can alter the speed.

Or buy a fancontroller....
easypanic is offline  
Old 8th May 2007, 11:46   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

are you connecting ALL three fans to the same header??
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th May 2007, 13:46   #4
Bourgi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No bios options to alter speed.
They are alle connected by one plug. It gets split in 3.

I think the noise comes from chassis vibration. Will try to unscrew the fans and listen if the noise remains.
 
Old 8th May 2007, 13:54   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bourgi View Post
They are alle connected by one plug. It gets split in 3.
.
there ya go, 3x 120mm fans from one mobo header is asking for trouble, hook each fan to a seperate mobo header, or directly to the PSU. you are drawing too much Amperage from that one header
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th May 2007, 14:34   #6
Bourgi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
there ya go, 3x 120mm fans from one mobo header is asking for trouble, hook each fan to a seperate mobo header, or directly to the PSU. you are drawing too much Amperage from that one header
The P5B manuel states that it supports up to 7 Ampère on one header. It would be very dumb of gigabyte not to think of this.

I will try to connect them seperatly (if possible) tonight and see what happens. I could buy some conversion plugs to hook it up on the PSU.

Thanks for the tips!
 
Old 8th May 2007, 14:43   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

What does gigabyte have to do with Asus P5B ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 8th May 2007, 15:18   #8
Bourgi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
What does gigabyte have to do with Asus P5B ?
Well, if Gigabyte did not foresee that asus does not deliver enough amperage on one header, they have a construction flaw with their chassis fans.

I doubt that this would be the problem though. I suspect that massive chassis vibration is producing all the noise.

Last edited by Bourgi : 8th May 2007 at 15:22.
 
Old 8th May 2007, 22:20   #9
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bourgi View Post
Well, if Gigabyte did not foresee that asus does not deliver enough amperage on one header, they have a construction flaw with their chassis fans.

I doubt that this would be the problem though. I suspect that massive chassis vibration is producing all the noise.
They don't actualy thing about that. You don't have to hook up the fan to the mobo header, you can also connect it directly to your PSU and that's probably what most fabs are expecting you to do when using 120mm fans.
And, there are more motherboard fabs than Asus and not every motherboard will be able to supply 7A on one header ...

What fans are you using and what speed are they running at ?
 
Old 8th May 2007, 23:57   #10
Bourgi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HardFreak View Post
They don't actualy thing about that. You don't have to hook up the fan to the mobo header, you can also connect it directly to your PSU and that's probably what most fabs are expecting you to do when using 120mm fans.
And, there are more motherboard fabs than Asus and not every motherboard will be able to supply 7A on one header ...

What fans are you using and what speed are they running at ?
3x 120 mm fans with leds at 1200rpm

I solved the problems:
1. The front fan suffered from a half-loose dustfilter. I had to dismantle the case to access it.
2. The rear fans were not properly screwed in, thus making them vibrate.

Poor build quality from gigabyte!

Thanks for the tips. I connected one of the fans directly to the PSU. The other 2 remain connected to the MB.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
finally a casefan that is sufficent Rutar General Madness - System Building Advice 4 10th December 2008 16:54
now that's a casefan Rutar General Madness - System Building Advice 5 2nd September 2006 14:32
possition casefan on cpu? kr15t0f Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 4 2nd August 2004 19:28

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:26.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO