It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
can't start-up in save mode can't start-up in save mode
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


can't start-up in save mode
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th January 2005, 16:08   #1
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
can't start-up in save mode

This morning when I turned on my pc AVG gave me a trojan message.
I healed it, but a few seconds later I got te same trojan infecting an other file.
healed it, and again the trojan infected another file.
etc.... etc...

Now I want to do a system scan in save mode but when I keep hitting F8 during start-up nothing happens :grum:

Can someone help me?
Did alreaddy some full system scans in normal mode but after I reboot the trojan came back

edit: And from time to time it's IE that opens when I click the firefox icon :s
 
Old 30th January 2005, 16:31   #2
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, problem with save mode solved

Keyboard was still on USB.

But after scans in save mode I still got the trojan problem.
I'm watching a AVG pop-up now and the trojan is istbar.5
 
Old 31st January 2005, 04:36   #3
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

how did you get into safe mode if it didn't work before?

does this istbar show up in IE? if so : http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/

also did you try running hijackthis and post your log on a fora?

I'll aso PM you a link
 
Old 31st January 2005, 08:46   #4
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kristos
how did you get into safe mode if it didn't work before?

does this istbar show up in IE? if so : http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/

also did you try running hijackthis and post your log on a fora?

I'll aso PM you a link
I hooked up an other keyboard

The istbar doesn't show up in IE

I don't know if this is a dangerous trojan or just a piece of stupid spyware that get recognized as a trojan, but I don't want to take any risks
+
Getting around 10 AVG pop-up's at the start-up is very
:grum:
 
Old 31st January 2005, 09:20   #5
kr15t0f
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think I finally killed it

Tnx kristos, the program you advised me removed it, stupid ad-aware SE personnal didn't found it
 
Old 12th February 2005, 06:02   #6
cairnsy_199
 
Posts: n/a
Default

kr15t0f wat was the program that you were private messaged because i also somtime have that problem.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP Mode RC Now Available jmke WebNews 0 5th August 2009 15:30
Microsoft Official Confirms Windows XP Mode for Windows 7 jmke WebNews 0 29th April 2009 13:40
Intel Core i7: Dual-Channel vs. Triple-Channel Memory Mode jmke WebNews 0 23rd March 2009 11:30
enable AHCI mode after installing Windows jmke WebNews 0 15th February 2009 11:31
Intel shifts future core processors into turbo mode jmke WebNews 0 21st August 2008 13:17
Beginners Guides: Safe Mode in Windows Vista For Crash Recovery jmke WebNews 0 9th February 2008 13:36
To start or not to start Bosw8er Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 12 29th September 2005 09:09
IWILL Set to Start Supplies of Dual-CPU Barebones jmke WebNews 0 28th December 2004 22:11
XBOX exclusive DOOM ]I[ co-operative mode is another feather in Live's cap jmke WebNews 1 23rd April 2004 09:20

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:32.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO