It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
bootdisk problem bootdisk problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


bootdisk problem
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th October 2005, 17:13   #1
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default bootdisk problem

I have a 400 gb seagate HDD for my kabinet pc, and I'm having all kinds of problems...
I couldn't install windows on it, when I plug in a pata drive, I can install windows on the pata drive, and I find the seagate in windows, and can use it without problem, but putting an exact ghost copy on the seagate doesn't boot into windows, other sata drives on the same sata channel do boot windows...
wtf is going on?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 15th October 2005, 17:27   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

May be the boot file becomes hidden from ghost copy. I no longer use ghost, the latest Drive Image prompts the message and have more choices whether you intend to make the OS copy bootable.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 15th October 2005, 17:39   #3
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

but even before ghost, it doesn't want to install windows, even if it's properly working once in windows
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 15th October 2005, 17:53   #4
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Assuming you have reformatted. I am not sure if Seagate has HD diagnostic utiity similar to Western Digital and IBM drives to check the HD.

My IBM SATA drive (new) was unable to install Windows, I found out later on it was "bad". RMA'ed back and the new drive return within 2 weeks.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 15th October 2005, 18:53   #5
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,998
piotke Freshly Registered
Default

Seagate has seatool (or is it seatools, not sure).
__________________
.
piotke is offline  
Old 17th October 2005, 15:17   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

seatools : no problem found

solved the problem : it's an age-old problem with big drives, seemingly you have to set the access in bios from auto to large or the disk won't boot an OS...
now it's ok
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 17th October 2005, 16:38   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,611
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

where did you find out ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 17th October 2005, 20:27   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=326676
and
http://episteme.arstechnica.com/grou...m/383005545731
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats the source of the problem? Zemfik Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 18th March 2008 18:23
P4 805 Oc same as the test but... problem Opcod Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 7 8th June 2006 15:56
Acer Aspire 1705SMi problem. Blackbyte Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 14th March 2006 16:09
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
Problem with Promise Sata150 TX4 Roswell Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 3 27th November 2004 14:41
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 22:23
HD error problem Darkstar Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 2 21st February 2004 14:21
Help needed: R9800pro problem FoRCe Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 13th January 2004 15:02
the 333mhz problem kipni Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 22nd May 2003 14:47
boot problem with abit th7-II The Senile Doctor Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 22 10th June 2002 23:15

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:24.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO