It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
boot problem with abit th7-II boot problem with abit th7-II
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


boot problem with abit th7-II
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th June 2002, 19:10   #11
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

try to boot without something on the ide-port.
see if you get an error.
Gamer is offline  
Old 9th June 2002, 19:11   #12
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

yep...
unplugged the HDD : pc boots straight thru passed the 75.
no probs at all.
just stops cuz' there's no disk but the booting is ok...

I've changed the rounded cables to some standard ones : no difference...
I'm not 100% sure but everything points @ the hdd...
damn, my l33t WD 1000 BB-SE 8Mb cache is gone...
i'll look that bill up, cuz' it's just some months old... it was running fixed pci/agp all the way....
what could've killed it?
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 9th June 2002, 19:13   #13
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

previeus OC maybe ?
Gamer is offline  
Old 9th June 2002, 19:22   #14
Magnum_
 
Posts: n/a
Default

damn
I also have that HDD :|
 
Old 9th June 2002, 19:51   #15
lazybones
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it could be that this one was made on a monday.


WHAT MAKES THINGS CRASH
could be a subject of a never ending story
 
Old 9th June 2002, 20:02   #16
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,343
TerAngreal Freshly Registered
Default

any sudden fluctuations in the electric net past few days?
didn't have a short-circuit on the HD when adapting something inside your case or something?

i don't presume you dropped your case or something like that ...

if it's only a couple of months old you'll still have your warranty on that thingie ...

daing, OC'ing/love for PC is an expensive hobby
TerAngreal is offline  
Old 10th June 2002, 15:33   #17
[M] Reviewer
 
The Senile Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: wherever the doom is
Posts: 3,171
The Senile Doctor Freshly Registered
Default

it's the wd that is dead.

changed it by a maxtor 40 gb... and all is ok...
damn, it was
1.fully tweaked, that's two hours of work
2.savespots in sof2, dungeon siege (third time this happens...), ...
3.loads of screenshots lost and two 3dmarkresults above my current (just a little bit, I had a 14128 and a 14164...

what destroyed it... I will never know...

another RMA...
__________________
OC-2-the-death
Where the Reverend is doing his Magick, all mortals be silent
Doom over the world
The Senile Doctor is offline  
Old 10th June 2002, 15:42   #18
[M] Reviewer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,543
DUR0N Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by calantak
it's the wd that is dead.

1.fully tweaked, that's two hours of work
what the hell?
you really should tell me what you do in those two hours.
I tweak my system in about 10min, i must be missing some tweaks...
actually, in two hours a format/install and tweak my whole OS
DUR0N is offline  
Old 10th June 2002, 17:33   #19
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

check if you can boot with both HD's attached, maybe you can save some data.
Gamer is offline  
Old 10th June 2002, 17:37   #20
Magnum_
 
Posts: n/a
Default

idd, certainly if you had different partitions as I do, its possible to rescue some stuff (if partitiontable ain't fux0red)
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GAP35-DS3L Boot Problem Nessmaster Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 14 4th June 2008 16:16
HOWTO: Troubleshoot Any Networking Problem jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 0 15th February 2006 13:33
boot problem after install OCZ booster Desert Eagle Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 6th July 2005 02:26
Abit and Epox confirm Nforce 3/4 problem jmke WebNews 0 18th March 2005 12:02
ABIT Faces Accounting Scandal, but Says No Partners Affected jmke WebNews 1 22nd December 2004 00:06
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 22:23
Problem with abit KD7 mainboard s1[]v[]0n Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 5th June 2004 20:07
Abit KX7 boot up -- Award Boot Block BIOS jmke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 14th March 2004 18:58
ABIT Introduces BulletProof Technology jmke WebNews 0 3rd March 2004 13:05
PCI problem on ABIT IC7-MAXIII TerAngreal Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 9 22nd December 2003 18:42

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:33.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO