It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
Asus L1N64-SLI installation problems Asus L1N64-SLI installation problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Asus L1N64-SLI installation problems
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th September 2007, 18:06   #1
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default Asus L1N64-SLI installation problems

Hello all --- I am havingproblems with the following systm

Asus L1n64-SLI mobo
dual FX-64's
4 x 1GB GEIL DDR2-800MHz (same modules)
Leadtek 7940GX2
Segate 74GB 7200RPM SATA
PCPower 1KW

I've done several fresh in stallations where the HDD was compltely wiped using the Ultimate Boot CD.

I intsall a fres copy of WinXP Home Edition w/SP2 and what happens is I can'r make it to the splash screen? Eeverything goes perfect until it's time to get to the Desktop.

SafeMode works so I get inot it and install the nForce drivers sometimes using the nvidia SDW driver, sometimes ommitting it because it's been known to cause problems. Either way bno effect. Then i ty to install the drivers for the graphic card and it's a no go.

I don't know what's preventing me from getting to the Desktop ? The WinXP Home Edition CD is a legitimate copy, the HDD was wiped clean and the SATA drivers are working or I wouldn't be accessing the drive at all?

Please HELP ):
 
Old 6th September 2007, 18:50   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

HDD setup at BIOS?
How do you setup/config HDD at BIOS level ?
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 6th September 2007, 18:59   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

are you 100% memory is OK, first thing to check when windows is acting up
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th September 2007, 19:37   #4
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidney View Post
HDD setup at BIOS?
How do you setup/config HDD at BIOS level ?
For example making sure the SATA controller is configured correctly, you can Enable/Disable P+SATA or just SATA or RAID. Run as IDE ec

The memory is perffect each kit overclocked beyond 100MHz on other systems. They each have the same ICs.
 
Old 6th September 2007, 19:46   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

not talking about IC or OC talking about working/broken
memtest86+ it
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th September 2007, 19:52   #6
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

If you can intall Windows; memory should not be the problem. During installation XP uses drivers to compensation different HDD config.

"Run As = IDE" even you are using SATA, try that.

Raid setup does not apply here.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 6th September 2007, 19:53   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

not quite though, since he can only boot in Safe Mode :/
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th September 2007, 19:58   #8
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Um, I forgot he mentioned being able to get into safe mode.
then, he could check HDD setting from within Windows.

Wouldn't it take out the memory issue also, unless he starts pushing memory intense programs.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 6th September 2007, 20:20   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,737
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

maybe try with only 1 stick?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 6th September 2007, 22:37   #10
Liquid3D
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmke View Post
maybe try with only 1 stick?

This particular board will only work with all four DIMM slots occupied and with the same memory.

I honestly think it's a driver issue I just don't know where.... The P35-DS3R is up and running and I'm simultanesoly beginning the water-block round-up, finishing Mushkin review, and rotating through thermal pastes. The Quad core runs at 400x9 at default vcore, excellent chip. And it's heat signature is great for testing thermal paste.

Alos working on PCPower the writers block has cleared then Mozart, then DD I may ask for help, but I have been in afunk (depression) which just came over me, so that's tough. ButI'm not feeling sorry for myself I just want to get this done for the manufacturers who sent it and of course for us.
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Gives Rampage III Extreme 4-way SLI Capability with ROG Xpander jmke WebNews 0 20th May 2010 08:39
SLI licensed to run on X58 mainboards from ASUS, EVGA, MSI, Gigabyte and DFI jmke WebNews 0 22nd October 2008 13:22
ASUS Striker II NSE nForce 790i SLI Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 29th May 2008 18:23
ASUS P5N-E SLI S775 Motherboard Review jmke WebNews 0 26th July 2007 09:48
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus vs Abit IN9 32X-MAX jmke WebNews 0 5th April 2007 09:14
ASUS P5N-E SLI 650i Motherboard jmke WebNews 0 26th March 2007 11:32
Asus P5N-E SLI nForce 650i SLI jmke WebNews 0 26th January 2007 10:52
Asus and Foxconn: Opposite approaches to the nForce 590 SLI jmke WebNews 0 17th July 2006 08:13
AMD AM2 Motherboard shootout: EPoX MF570 SLI vs ASUS M2N32-SLI jmke WebNews 1 22nd May 2006 08:39
NVIDIA SLI Revolution Begins with Launch of ASUS A8N-SLI jmke WebNews 0 17th November 2004 15:43

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO