It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs
9cjs and XP home install RAID1 9cjs and XP home install RAID1
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


9cjs and XP home install RAID1
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th April 2004, 22:21   #1
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default 9cjs and XP Pro install RAID1

Chaintech 9CJS - install of XP Pro on RAID-1?

I'm trying to install XP Pro on a RAID-1 on my Chaintech 9CJS MOBO.

During the setup process it asks for the Raid Controller driver (iastor, txtsetup.oem, etc.) files, which I successfully install from the floppy. Then comes the Welcome to Setup and, "Do you want to Install or Repair?" I press Enter for Install and get, "Setup did not find any hard disk drives" Strange because in Ctrl-I they show they are configured correctly.

So, I go back into BIOS > Integrated Peripherals and change it back to IDE. Then reboot. Then into BIOS again and change it to RAID and then Ctrl-I and delete the old RAID-1 and then recreate a new RAID-1 and begin all over again. I've done this several times and still the same results.

I tested the two SATA Raptor 36.7 GB 10,000 rpm drives individually and they work.

Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks, Kerry
 
Old 2nd May 2004, 11:45   #2
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Update:

To saves others lots of frustration and wasted time.

The reason I am installing XP Pro is because Chaintech told me that I could not configure a RAID-1 using a XP Home Upgrade CD.

I discovered this after many frustrating emails back and forth with Chaintech Support, located in Taiwan, who finally referred me to an English-speaking counterpart located in California. I received a telephone call from Jimmy and within minutes he told me that 9CJS couldn’t be configured as RAID1 using XP Home if one uses the “XP Home upgrade CD.”

In other words, one can only configure a RAID1 if they have an original XP Home CD or if they have XP Pro. I therefore have opted to buy XP Pro so that I can have a RAID-1.

Kerry
 
Old 2nd May 2004, 12:18   #3
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,716
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

that's weird! since the RAID should be transparant to the OS..
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd May 2004, 20:12   #4
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default

To explain why you can't install XP Home using the XP Home Upgrade CD on a RAID-1 on the 9JCS MOBO,

what would happen is, I'd get to the Windows Setup where it says, insert your WinXX CD—to prove that you're a legal owner of the XP Home CD—and it would read that there was no hard drive selected, even though the BIOS would show that it was configured correctly. It just wouldn't accept the combination of the Win98 CD and the XP Home Upgrade CD.

Jimmy, the mainland (CA) Chaintech tech had me change the array to RAID-0 and I enserted my Win98 CD and viola, it immediately accepted my XP Home Upgrade CD and the RAID-0 array worked perfectly.

Since then I have decided to have a RAID-1 and so I needed to buy and now install XP Pro on a RAID-1.

Kerry
 
Old 2nd June 2004, 09:38   #5
Kerry
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chaintech 9CJS - install of XP Pro on RAID-1?

PS. I sent a service ticket to Chaintech 6 days ago. So far I have only received their standard "we're too busy to get back to you Auto Reply email." This length of response time is no longer the exception, they just have too many customers to handle due to their recent sales successes. I am also miffed because none of the Taiwan techs speak fluent English so their replies have been extremely difficult to interpret for a novice such as me. They also leave out what for me are significant steps in their instructions.

Kerry
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:57.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO