It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice > FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO
INFO: What AMD Athlon CPU's are there and what are the differences between them INFO: What AMD Athlon CPU's are there and what are the differences between them
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


INFO: What AMD Athlon CPU's are there and what are the differences between them
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th August 2004, 11:06   #1
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
INFO: What AMD Athlon CPU's are there and what is the difference between them

* AMD A64 socket 939 FX
__ ~800 euro
__ dual channel memory controller onboard
__ 1mb l2 cache
__ 32 - 64bit hybrid processor ()

* AMD A64 socket 939
__ ~400
__ dual channel memory controller onboard
__ 512kb l2 cache
__ 32 - 64bit hybrid processor ()

* AMD A64 socket 754
__ ~150
__ single channel memory controller onboard
__ 512kb l2 (except for a few models which come with 1mb cache but lower Mhz speed
__ 32 - 64bit hybrid processor ()

* AMD A64 socket 754 Sempron (3100+)
__ ~140
__ single channel memory controller onboard
__ 256kb l2 cache
__ 32bit processor (64bit extensions disabled)

* AMD Barton socket A
__ ~75 euro
__ 512kb l2 cache
__ 32bit processor

* AMD Sempron socket A (2200-2800+)
__ ~45
__ 256kb l2 cache
__ 32bit processor
__ same as old Athlon XP but and FSB of 166Mhz instead of 133Mhz.

() Able to run 32-bit applications and games as well as 64-bit programs (Linux 64bit, Windows XP 64bit beta). Although the average user will experience no benefit from the 64bit abilities, it seems the A64 is very fast for 32bit tasks as well!

The best choice at this moment price/performance is the A64 3000+ (175) in combination with a Socket 754 motherboard (equipped with nForce3 250gb or VIA KT880 Pro chipset)

If you want to have more then 1.5gb ram, or you are planning a CPU upgrade within the year the smarter choice now is an A64 3500+ with a Socket 939 motherboard.

Only consider the Socket A Barton/Sempron if you are on a tight budget or you don't use your PC for more then occasional surfing/music/movie/gaming.

Intel, at this point in time, is no option for any self respecting PC Enthusiast.

RichBastard
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th August 2004, 12:04   #2
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: INFO: What AMD Athlon CPU's are there and what is the difference between them

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
Only consider the Socket A Barton/Sempron if you are on a tight budget or you don't your PC for more then occasional surfing/music/movie/gaming.
[/b]
Nice and usefull (if you don't know the differences)
 
Old 24th August 2004, 13:54   #3
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nice overview of the AMD line.

Although I'm definilty no intel fan. There are reasons that no A-brand is using them. And those reasons do have a place in the enthusiast market.
Bashing them this way is just dumb.
 
Old 24th August 2004, 14:05   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Nobody is "bashing" anyone afaik.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th August 2004, 14:57   #5
wutske
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, why don't you make one for Intel ?
 
Old 24th August 2004, 15:03   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

look at the last line in my post please...
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th August 2004, 16:54   #7
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

Intel Northwood from 2.4C to 3C with high OCing ability; already high memory bandwidth and current cut pricing will hold ground.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 24th August 2004, 17:51   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,752
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

we are talking about none OC of course, because if you take OC into account then a Mobile Barton running at 2500-2600Mhz kicks the hell out of that P4 "C" system at a fraction of the cost.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 24th August 2004, 17:57   #9
[M] Reviewer
 
Sidney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,739
Sidney Freshly Registered
Default

I love my XP2600+M.
__________________
lazyman

Opteron 165 (2) @2.85 1.42 vcore AMD Stock HSF + Chill Vent II
Sidney is offline  
Old 24th August 2004, 20:03   #10
FreeStyler
 
Posts: n/a
Default

right saying that intel is no option is't the least bit disrespectfull.

I know many people that think AMD is bad because hardly any A-brand is using them. That's wrong and short sighted.

Saying intel is bad, knowing that every A-brand is using them is foolish.
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:42.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO