It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > General Madness - System Building Advice > FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO
INFO : reinstall xp necessary after swith mobo ? INFO : reinstall xp necessary after swith mobo ?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


INFO : reinstall xp necessary after swith mobo ?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th August 2004, 18:25   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 692
[Bonbon] Freshly Registered
Default INFO : reinstall xp necessary after swith mobo ?

half my pc died last week , - cpu-mobo-psu , the old setup was :
cpu : amd athlon xp1800+ , motherboard : ecs k7s5a - other stuff is not important
- the hdd was still intact -

i bought a new cpu , motherboard and psu after some testing ,
instead of reinstalling my os , i booted from the windows cd , and chose the 'repair' option , after that , i booted into windows without a problem , only installed motherboard drivers . everything works fine now . (also had to reinstall the printer)

so i went from a sis xxx chipset to an nforce2 chipset , total reinstall was less then 1 half hour (hard & software reinstall that is)

hopefully this saves other people some time

offtopic : levicom psu's rock , while testing the broken mobo , my good levicom psu caught fire, i directly unplugt it , it is still working fine in my brothers pc.
__________________
intelD820 (2*2.8), 1gb ram , 6600gt , lots of hdd
[Bonbon] is offline  
Old 27th August 2004, 22:22   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,738
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

If you value system performance then nothing will beat a clean install though. But the repair options offers a quick fix. but not perfect.
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 28th August 2004, 02:18   #3
kristos
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Repair never worked for me, at least not if you go the way windows wants you to (press "r" for repair)
 
Old 28th August 2004, 09:11   #4
cR00zIFI><3r
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You could make a ghost-image of your c: after a clean install, so you wont have to do the total xp-install...

that's what I do
 
Old 28th August 2004, 10:29   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 692
[Bonbon] Freshly Registered
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cR00zIFI&gt;&lt;3r
You could make a ghost-image of your c: after a clean install, so you wont have to do the total xp-install...
that image would contain the same old motherboard drivers in my case

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
If you value system performance then nothing will beat a clean install though. .
that is correct , but as this is the pc of my father , with 40+ programs installed , i prefer speed in installing the stuff <-> system performance
and he also went from a 1800+ to a 2400+ - so i guess its back in balance
__________________
intelD820 (2*2.8), 1gb ram , 6600gt , lots of hdd
[Bonbon] is offline  
Old 9th September 2004, 17:00   #6
ssl6
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i heard that if u remove your ide controller drivers before switchin a motherboard it will save you from having to reinstall windows.

also if you use power saving and standby, hibernation and all that crap, u have to reinstall windows because acpi is only installed during windows setup
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LF 775 Matx Mobo + Dual Core cpu Kurgan In Demand 10 26th December 2008 18:32
combining two 3 lead fans to one mobo fan connection hewo Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 7 10th June 2007 19:39
Need Help Pls. with Mobo advice thecookie General Madness - System Building Advice 5 30th March 2007 06:14
AM2 Enthusiast Deluxe Mobo íV MSI K9N Diamond Performance and Analysis windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 29th September 2006 02:22
socket A mobo. kr15t0f In Demand 3 16th December 2004 22:58
Problem with new mobo Abit KV8 pro dorfke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 6 4th October 2004 22:23
Where is the mobo temp. sensor located? GiantKiller Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 4 15th June 2003 13:52
New mobo: help me choose Xploited Titan Mad Bargains 9 31st May 2003 05:00
INFO: Memory Timings jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 6 18th May 2003 11:38
mobo doesn't start up biCker Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 16 18th September 2002 13:23

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:11.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO