It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
trouble oc'n trouble oc'n
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


trouble oc'n
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd June 2003, 18:35   #1
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default trouble oc'n

my setup crashes at random above 180fsb
i can't find the problem

setup:
tbred b (forgot to write the stepping down)
abit kx7 (from duron)
audigy 2
3com 100/10mbit
geforce 4mx (sucky brand)
pioneer dvd-rom
seagate barracuda 4
and a stick of takeMS pc3200 (shop has no complaints of these whatsoever)

everything is configured right (using 5:2:1 divider)
system used to ran stable on an abit kr7a with 170 fsb and a 4:2:1 divider
so pci/agp speeds shouldn't be the problem
i'm totally lost here

help?
 
Old 3rd June 2003, 18:37   #2
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,995
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
and a stick of takeMS pc3200 (shop has no complaints of these whatsoever)
can you run the memory async?

remove the audigy/3com and pioneer, then try again
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 3rd June 2003, 18:59   #3
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default

maybe a dumb question, but how do i run it async at 200MHz?
 
Old 3rd June 2003, 19:08   #4
vegeta
 
Posts: n/a
Default

kx-7 doesn't support running your ram assyncronic

try to give some more voltage trough the chip and ram if you have descent cooling.

lower mp up your fsb
 
Old 3rd June 2003, 19:15   #5
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,995
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vegeta
kx-7 doesn't support running your ram assyncronic
you put the memory at 166 with the FSB at 133
but not like the nforce2 ones where you can gain little by little
jmke is offline  
Old 3rd June 2003, 19:16   #6
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vegeta
kx-7 doesn't support running your ram assyncronic

try to give some more voltage trough the chip and ram if you have descent cooling.

lower mp up your fsb
tried that, no go
 
Old 3rd June 2003, 19:19   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,995
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke

remove the audigy/3com and pioneer, then try again
jmke is offline  
Old 3rd June 2003, 19:29   #8
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke

remove the audigy/3com and pioneer, then try again
nut'n
i even removed the hard drive, to see if would post at 200MHz, but still nothing

edit: my samsung pc2700 had the same problem, i thought it had reached its max, but the problem remains, very freaky
 
Old 3rd June 2003, 19:37   #9
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,995
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

hmmm even with the CPU underclocked (very low MP) ?
try another vidcard
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 3rd June 2003, 19:41   #10
jakkerd
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmke
hmmm even with the CPU underclocked (very low MP) ?
try another vidcard
vidcard is crappy indeed
but it ran at an agp-speed of 85MHz on the kr7a
and agp is at 72MHz now

and i don't have a spare vidcard (will try to borrow one, if i can get a hold of my borrow-friend )
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia partners in trouble ? jmke WebNews 1 9th December 2009 14:31
Having Trouble with new build mentalcrisis00 Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 8 15th March 2009 00:57
AMD having trouble with 65nm stock voltage speed jmke WebNews 1 26th August 2006 16:41
ATI overclocked BIOS not so trouble free jmke WebNews 0 1st January 2006 23:49
Network trouble eskellie8 General Madness - System Building Advice 1 26th November 2005 10:51
The Dual-Core War: Is Intel in Trouble? Sidney WebNews 7 6th May 2005 02:37
Abit KW7 BIOS trouble Supermax Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 5 26th January 2005 12:12
How To Trouble Shoot Your DVD jmke WebNews 0 28th July 2004 13:09
Athlon 64 oc'ing trouble - newby beachbrat79 Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 1st February 2004 20:21
Athlon 64 oc trouble beachbrat79 Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 0 1st February 2004 18:13

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO