It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Which to take Opteron 144 <-> 146? Which to take Opteron 144 <-> 146?
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Which to take Opteron 144 <-> 146?
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st December 2005, 11:05   #1
Violator
 
Posts: n/a
Default Which to take Opteron 144 <-> 146?

I know a shop where they have a Opteron 144 in stock but i wanted a 146. Those will be available mid January they say.

Now is my question wait until mid january or buy now a 144?

Are the 146 better OC'ers or do they just have a higher multi?

Thx

English is not my native language
 
Old 21st December 2005, 11:21   #2
Member
 
easypanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,823
easypanic Freshly Registered
Default

What shop?

And it's a case of luck, no one can tell which one will overclock better
__________________
|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^\||____
|....The BEER TRUCK.... ||||'""|""\_,__
|___Just for You___l||__|__|___|) _____|
|(@)(@)""""""""""""**|(@)(@)****|(@)|
easypanic is offline  
Old 21st December 2005, 11:26   #3
Violator
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.ahead-it.be/shop/?cat=3

OK i'm gonne be spending money this evening
 
Old 21st December 2005, 12:06   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

excellent :-)
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 21st December 2005, 17:22   #5
Violator
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Got me one.

CAB2E 0545CPAW

Any good?

I'm gonne test it tomorrow.
 
Old 21st December 2005, 17:43   #6
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I doubt it will go to 2900Mhz like your venice
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 21st December 2005, 18:32   #7
Violator
 
Posts: n/a
Default

2.9Ghz

30.125 sec

3Ghz -> blue screen after 20 seconds (Ram is getting fairly high 273Mhz) but i tested it with 266Mhz divider and it was the same.

2.9Ghz is stable with widow open

2.8Ghz is perfect stable with normal room temperatures.

Maybe when he's burn in, i'll get some better results.
 
Old 21st December 2005, 18:33   #8
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

very interesting I ordered the same CPU, from the same shop
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 21st December 2005, 18:40   #9
Violator
 
Posts: n/a
Default

He had still 2 CPU's left in stock. And a backorder for 15 more 144's. He hoped they would arrive by the end of this week.

I do not really know if he would sell the last two untill the others has arrived, because he said he would kept them for his own to make servers
 
Old 21st December 2005, 19:02   #10
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I ordered mine at noon, got confirmation through Live Support on the site that he'd put one aside for me
__________________
jmke is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TK: Opteron 146 @ 2.8Ghz Stock Vcore en Ahtlon64 X2 4200+ Violator Mad Bargains 3 5th July 2006 17:37
AMD Opteron 146 s939 geoffrey Mad Bargains 2 23rd May 2006 22:21
MSI K8N Diamond Plus with Vacuum Tube Front Panel and Opteron 144 windwithme Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding 2 28th January 2006 10:57
INFO: Unofficial Opteron 939 information thread (DFI-Street) jmke FAQ / INFO / HOW-TO 1 17th January 2006 16:40
[FS] Opteron 146 & Dual Core 165 Socket 939 [CLOSED] computersmsa Mad Bargains 357 14th December 2005 21:34
AMD Lowers AMD Opteron for 1-Way Apps Pricing jmke WebNews 1 4th November 2005 10:02
Arima Dual AMD Opteron SW300 & SW310 + Quad AMD Opteron SW500 Sidney WebNews 0 31st May 2005 16:29
AMD Cranks Up Speed of Low Power AMD Opteron Chips jmke WebNews 0 23rd March 2005 11:29
AMD's Q1 2004 Opteron Sales Surpass the Whole 2004 Figure jmke WebNews 0 17th June 2004 08:53
HP announces four-way Opteron system jmke WebNews 2 25th April 2004 19:30

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:22.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO