It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Replacing onboard crystal Replacing onboard crystal
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Replacing onboard crystal
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th December 2006, 16:41   #11
Sharpside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can you indicate the crystal on your picture? i might be interested to trie this on my 6200 64bit.
It might make it a bit less crappy

Last edited by Sharpside : 10th December 2006 at 16:44. Reason: wireless keyboard acting up
 
Old 10th December 2006, 21:34   #12
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

They often look like this: http://www.sure-electronics.net/engl...ors/full31.jpg

When you look at the picture from my first post, it's right in the middle on the left side if the heatsink.
geoffrey is offline  
Old 10th December 2006, 21:44   #13
Sharpside
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I thought it would be that one.
I'll check my collection of dead cards next weekend and report back if i was able to do the mod.
Tnx for the info geoffrey!

Last edited by Sharpside : 10th December 2006 at 21:53.
 
Old 14th December 2006, 15:41   #14
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

I asked myself a guestion yesterday on XS, and I'm going to ask that same question here too...

As you can see in my above posts, changing the crystal affects the whole VGA card without being able to read it. Now... what if I did the same with my mainbord. Assuming it would work, my system would be faster, though Windows would indicate me running @ stock speed like I showed above. Now the thing is: the whole system is based on time/oscillators, and yes, even Windows depends on that, it doesn't communicate with the atomclock in Germany for example. If I changed a specific crystal, would that make 'Windows Time' run assynchronic with the real time? Would it be possible to travel back in time
geoffrey is offline  
Old 14th December 2006, 15:51   #15
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

if I buy a faulty watch, does that make me a time traveler ?
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th December 2006, 15:56   #16
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

I was joking about that last part, but the fact is, if I can change the speed of Windows time, I can fake benchmarks also. I'm curious if it's possible, though, if it is possible, who will believe me when I ever set a high score. Kinda like a double edged sword eh.
geoffrey is offline  
Old 14th December 2006, 16:40   #17
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 78,614
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I doubt it will impact benchmarks that much
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 14th December 2006, 16:51   #18
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

superpi is about ms though
geoffrey is offline  
Old 2nd January 2007, 23:51   #19
[M] Reviewer
 
geoffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,120
geoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registeredgeoffrey Fully Registered
Default

Need some help for my next little project.

Someone can find 'ICS 9250CF-08' datasheet?

Closest I could get till now was ICS 9250-10 datasheet.
E-mailed them, I hope I get some respons.

EDIT: ICS = IDT nowadays, www.idt.com
geoffrey is offline  
Old 21st January 2007, 17:18   #20
[M] Reviewer
 
easypanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,823
easypanic Freshly Registered
Default

http://www.idt.com/products/files/24...ics9250-08.pdf

this is without CF , but it looks like the one for early pentium boards...
__________________
|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^\||____
|....The BEER TRUCK.... ||||'""|""°\_,__
|___Just for You___l||__|__|___|) _____|
|(@)(@)""""""""""""**|(@)(@)****|(@)|
easypanic is offline  
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Mods Ascension Crystal Ship CYO Case jmke WebNews 0 30th January 2010 13:41
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 featuring 333 Onboard Acceleration, 3-Way SLI™ and CrossFireX jmke WebNews 0 18th November 2009 11:00
Hardware ASUS Announces P5K3 Premium with 2GB Onboard jmke WebNews 3 14th July 2007 10:16
Details of the NVIDIA onboard GPU chipset for AM2 revealed jmke WebNews 0 19th February 2007 10:03
MSI MEGA Book S300 Crystal Edition: 13-inch Notebook Embedded with Swarovski Crystals jmke WebNews 1 12th January 2007 14:40
Sharp 3D liquid crystal color 15" TFT jmke WebNews 0 17th June 2004 08:56

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:56.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO