It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

 
Go Back [M] > Hardware Madness > Hardware Overclocking and Case Modding
Reading Radeon 9800 temperature Reading Radeon 9800 temperature
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reading Radeon 9800 temperature
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd August 2004, 10:46   #1
0rbi
 
Posts: n/a
Default Reading Radeon 9800 temperature

Hello, is there a sensor on the ATI Radeon 9800pro VGA card?
So i can read the temps
 
Old 2nd August 2004, 10:49   #2
[M] Reviewer
 
Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,587
Gamer Freshly Registered
Default

if it's the R350 core : no
360 core : possible if flashed to XT.
__________________
Gamer is offline  
Old 2nd August 2004, 12:43   #3
0rbi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so there is a sensor but only when i flash it to higher level it wil be recognized?
 
Old 2nd August 2004, 12:54   #4
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

only if your 9800Pro has a R360 core as Gamer stated
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd August 2004, 12:58   #5
Laagvliegerke
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No, it's like Gamer says:

Quote:
Originally posted by Gamer
if it's the R350 core : no
360 core : possible if flashed to XT.
You can only know what core you have, if you remove the heatsink of your card.

The R350 core is the "normal" 9800(pro) core.
The R360 core is the 9800XT core. This core has a sensor!

Some manufacturers user R360 cores for the production of their 9800 pro. Probably because they don't have enough R350 core's or because the R360 cores they use, aren't good enough for 9800XT's. So if you have a 9800 Pro with a R360 core, you can try to flash your 9800 Pro to a 9800 XT and then tools like ATITool will be able to read the temperature. If you don't flash your card, these tools will not recognise your card as a 9800XT and only a 9800XT has a temperature sensor.

Got it?
 
Old 2nd August 2004, 13:26   #6
0rbi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yep, but i just installed a maze4-1 gpu with pelt on it, and i'm not gonna unscrew the whole damn thing again
 
Old 2nd August 2004, 13:27   #7
Madshrimp
 
jmke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 7090/Belgium
Posts: 79,001
jmke has disabled reputation
Default

I would just start overclocking then until you get artifacts

here's a tool which can do this for you automatically!

http://atitool.ocfaq.com
__________________
jmke is offline  
Old 2nd August 2004, 14:11   #8
0rbi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

damn, i got R350 :'(
 
Old 2nd August 2004, 14:41   #9
StaRflaM
 
Posts: n/a
Default

how did you know ?

because prog's will say that you have a r350 core huh, even if it's an r360
 
Old 2nd August 2004, 20:19   #10
0rbi
 
Posts: n/a
Default

from the ATItool
 
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Radeon 9800 Pro To Radeon 9800XT Mod Guide Rev. 6.0 Posted! Sidney WebNews 0 26th December 2004 15:54
ATI Mobility Radeon 9800 Review jmke WebNews 0 9th December 2004 17:29
ATi Mobility Radeon 9800 Review jmke WebNews 0 20th September 2004 08:48
Sapphire Offers to Replace RADEON 9800 PRO “128-bit Edition” jmke WebNews 0 17th June 2004 08:52
Radeon 9800 SE to Radeon 9800 Pro Mod Guide @ RojakPot jmke WebNews 0 26th May 2004 09:51
RADEON 9800 PRO Gets Lower Speed Memory jmke WebNews 2 21st May 2004 17:28
Graphics Cards Makers Change Plans on Affordable RADEON 9800 XT jmke WebNews 0 8th April 2004 15:50
radeon 9600xt of radeon 9800 SE met softmod??? kutteke Hardware/Software Problems, Bugs 1 17th December 2003 00:39

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:52.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO